What to Buy: Old and beefy or New and Rigid?

Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author

I am maxing out my XC oriented $600 range bike every time I ride. It doesn’t like to jump, or turn quick, or ride aggressively, or do anything great except for efficient power delivery. Not my style of riding.

My budget is only around $1000 range…. I know… but I’m a college student so that is all I can swing.

My question is: should I buy a beefy used older bike off of pink bike that would be 2010-2013ish, or go with maybe the hardestcore hardtail I can find for the price range (I’m thinking the Raleigh Tokul 3).

Any feed back is appreciated!

Hi! Tough choice. With new trail-oriented hardtail you gonna feel a difference but, in my opinion, very soon will start looking into full suspension. I’d rather shop around and find good used full susser.

My 2011 stumpjumper besides scrapes from trail use is in good condition and ready for more fun. Sure it’s not shiny anymore, doesn’t have Boost hub, 1×11 drivetrain or other modern technologies but it gets the  job done.

If I were  you, I’d be careful buying used. It is always somewhat of a risk, especially if you don’t know exactly what you’re getting. I realize some people find killer deals, but at this price range I’m not sure the savings are worth it. But more than that, a 2010 full sus will, even in the best of cases, probably have some dated geometry and tech. Not that you can’t still have fun with it- I still ride my ’99 stumpjumper full sus once a year and have a blast on it, but it’s nothing like my modern all-mountain rig.

My Suggestion would be something like this: https://www.commencalusa.com/meta-ht-am-origin-650b-yellow-2017-c2x21027596. The slack geometry will really let you shred, and 140mm up front will do a lot. Components won’t be  great, but they’ll be in perfectly fine working order, and you won’t have to waste money or time replacing parts right away.

Just my 2cents.