Home made racks for truck bed

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author

Hello everyone ! I’m new to singletracks.com and I am looking for your photos/ sugestions/ ideas for a home made rack for the bed of my full size pick up, for down hill bikes. It’s not for long hauls, just a 10 k ride to the hill.
      Thank You !

How many bikes are you looking to haul? Are you going to use the truck to shuttle to the top of a downhill run or just to get to the trailhead? If you’re using the truck as a shuttle vehicle this is an efficient way to go 😀

2 suggestions: You can take a thick blanket and cover the tailgate and just hang the front wheel of maybe 6-8 bikes over the tailgate.
      Another way would be 2×4 with fork mounts screwed into it. Put angle brackets at the end of the wood with padding on the metal, soft foam insulation around a door. 1/4"x1" insulation to prevent scratching the bed. If you want to get fancy you can even put a bolt into the end to shorten or lengthen the board but if just used on your truck just measure to length.

My buddy and I use something along the lines of what Abegold was talking about. It works great for QR 9mm axles like the ones on our XC bikes but I haven’t been able to find fork mounts that fit the 20mm axle on my AM bike. (If anyone has a link to a 20mm version I’d love to have it.) We could easily fit at least 2 more bikes on the board with a little quick rearranging. The bed of his truck is only about 4’x 6′ so you may be able to fit a lot more bikes in yours. His bed liner even has built in shelf mounts to slide the 2×4 into and keep it from sliding around; chances are, yours probably does too. He’s out of town right now but I have the setup at my house in my bike garage so here’s a pic without the truck bed. Use your imagination and you can figure it out. Good luck.

cjm

JG, use a fork up

http://www.hurricanecomponents.com/forkups.php