Getting A New Bike Today

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author

I plan on heading up to the bike shop in a few hours (waiting on a buddy to get here so he can get his cannondale fixed) and I just had one last question or two. Ive really been looking at the Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc. I ride in Florida (alafia, balm boyette, carter road, etc) and was wondering what you guys’ opinion was about that decision. Im a college student on a budget and from what ive read im going to need to replace the front fork. However I know nothing about forks so I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction.

With an upgraded fork, is the specialized worth it? Or should I try looking at something else?

I wouldn’t worry about upgrading anything initially. If your going to spend $500-600 on a bike and another few hundred upgrading a fork, you might as well buy a higher level model with better components.

"fleetwood" wrote

I wouldn’t worry about upgrading anything initially. If your going to spend $500-600 on a bike and another few hundred upgrading a fork, you might as well buy a higher level model with better components.

Im not planning on upgrading right away, just kinda as I have some extra cash. The bike shop has the hardrock sport disc for under 500 new. I was wonering that after some time and upgrades, just how good can this bike be?

"maddslacker" wrote

http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/BI272B15-Jamis+Dakar+Xc+Bike+09.aspx

Just something to think about…

Im assuming your suggesting this over the hardrock lol? My big question though is that I ride in Florida, there are some good down hill spots, but i do alot of climbing. Would an FS be better then a hardtail?

That’s a tough question. But the bottom line is that bike has better components than the hardrock, for the same price, so it’s definitely worth considering.