creaking in my bottom bracket/crank set

Viewing 29 reply threads
  • Author

When I apply heavy pressure to my crankset (ie out of saddle or going uphill at low speed), I’m getting a “creaking” in my bottom bracket.  Is this due to bad bearings?

I’ve been toying with the notion of upgrading my crankset from the low end Shimano that I have now (my 2nd bike has XX SRAM and I love them).  Should I consider buying a new bottom bracket or trying to repair what I have now?  And how big of a difference will a higher end crankset really make?

I’m a beginner (riding for exactly 1 year) but progressing quickly.  I want to make sure I leave myself room to grow but also don’t want to waste money on components that my skill set won’t be able to maximize.

Not necessarily, may just need cleaning and re-greasing.

I would say your bottom bracket definitely needs service. I’ve had similar issues where I had water and dirt jammed into the bearings adding more friction. I just replaced the bearings but kept my spindle and cranks mostly because I didn’t have the money for that kind of upgrade at the time. I’d say that upgrading parts is always a good idea. Fixing your current set up will probably correct the problem, but you could run into the same problem again in a few months. I’m sure you would be less likely to run into this problem in the future with higher quality components.

I have a priority list when it comes to upgrades, but if you’re not planning on putting your money toward upgrades on other parts (suspension, wheels, tires) I’d say go for it. There’s a lot of variety in componentry so I’m sure you can find something that fits your skill set and will also allow you to progress.