A gary fisher bike

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

So i got a new bike, its a gary fisher sugar 3+ 2002. i went from a mongoose from walmart to this, so i think this bike is like a revolutionary change. I was just wondering if this is a good bike or not and if anyone could tell me if they have had any experience with this bike. You know the pros and the cons. also is gray fisher a good brand bike im kinda new to the mountain biking world so i wouldnt know.

To answer your questions, yes. It is a great bike for that year, and can hold its own today. Fisher is usually mentioned as being one of the founders of the mountain biking movement, and produces some great rigs. I have an ’01 Sugar with an upgraded wheelset and disc brakes added, and a fox fork makes it a pretty quick and efficient rig.

I haven’t had many issues, and the only limitation I have found is the ability to upgrade to larger tires. The 2.1’s are a pretty tight fit on the back end, and I don’t think a 2.3 would fit, but I may measure it and try anyways at some point. It has been a great bike for me.

I have another Fisher, a 29er hardtail and am just as happy with that one too.

Your Fisher Sugar may be a quantum leap from what you had. They have a pretty basic and easy linkage to maintain.
      Limited travel as it’s an XC rig first and foremost, they make for great climbing, but can get overwhelmed easily on steep technical descents. They are nimble in tight quick situations due to the steep head angle, but at speeds over 30..they get twitchy.
      I still keep my Sugar 1 with B-Link carbon stays around as a back-up on race day or guest bike. It can still hold it’s own on a sprinting XC rolling course and is light even by today’s standards at under 24LBS.
      Enjoy it, if it doesn’t have disc, do yourself a favor and upgrade to at least mechanical but hydraulic will be optimal.
      My bike is set with 2.1 tires with plenty of clearance.