TUBELESS, what are your thoughts?

Tagged: 

Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author

I recently made the switch to a tubeless setup on my hifi 29er. I was really curious of what everyone else thinks of a tubeless setup. Do YOU like tubes? If so, then why? What does everyone think the benefits and drawbacks are?

I’ve been riding tubless for about 2 yrs now and have flatted once. That was b/c I landed a drop wrong and ripped the bead free. Just popped some compressed CO2 into the tire and was rolling again – literally less than a minute of downtime. You CAN ride a much lower pressure but I still go for about 40-45 pounds.

I was with a 6 man group doing the Monarch Crest Trail, and the only riders that flatted were those with tubes.

I’d be interested to hear a good argument FOR tubes…….. 😃

cjm

I rode tubeless for about a season and found them to be more trouble than they are worth. I ran a WTB Wierwolf UST and Panaracer Fire XC UST. The WTB was run both front and rear. The Panaracer was run in just the rear. The first problem that appeared was slow leaks. When I re-soaped the tire you could see soap foam pouring from dozens if not hundreds of holes in the tire. I would have to re-soap every couple of weeks. I finally stopped this problem with Green Slime. I had the WTB for about 3 months before I added the Panaracer. So, I am not sure if the slow leak problem was a WTB problem, as the Panaracer got the Green Slime when it was first installed. The Panaracer was less than a month old when I ripped one of the lugs creating about 3mm slit in the tire. I rode the tire after that with a tube problem free. I puncture flatted the WTB also. I actually tried patching a few times with no success.