Seatpost Swivel Issue

Tagged: ,

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author

I just bought a lightly used mountain bike, a 2005 Gary Fisher Tassajara. The issue I’m having is that the saddle rotates when I ride it. At first I thought it was the seatpost rotating inside the frame, but this was not the case. The seatpost on this bike is a Bontrager Sport and it is the original one that came with the bike when the previous owner bought it. The head of the seatpost that attaches to the rails of the saddle rotates inside the seatpost and I can’t figure out how to tighten it. Is this something that can be adjusted and fixed or is the seatpost broken and in need of replacing? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I’m very new to bike maintenance/repair. Thanks in advance!

Hey, what kind of bass you got there?
      Take the thing apart, then put it back together, that should make any damage and or how it works apparent.

Take the thing apart, then put it back together, that should make any damage and or how it works apparent.

"musikron" wrote

Hey Musikron,
      Thanks for the reply! It’s an Ibanez 5-String SR 505 bass. I’m not sure why that picture is there or how to change it either, haha.

I took the saddle off of the seatpost to see if there was any mechanism to tighten or remove the head, but there was nother there except for the bolt to tighten the clamps on the rails of the saddle. I shined a flashlight down the tube of the seatpost from the bottom and it looks like there it a flat head screw way down inside of it. Guess I’ll have to find a 12.5" flathead screwdriver to find out.

Time for a new seatpost? My personal favorite is the Thompson Elite. It’s not the lightest post on the market, but it may be the most durable. I’m 200lbs and have bent other posts. If you bend or break one of these, I would be amazed!

"gar29" wrote