potential new 19 mile trail near Robbinsville, NC

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

I’m new to this so if I screw up forgive me this time. My name is Dale Wiggins and I and some others have been working with USFS to open a 19 mile trail that was constructed in 1998-1999 near Robbinsville, NC and was never allowed to be used by the USFS Ranger at the time. This trail was funded by Graham County Travel and Tourism and NC Parks and Recreation. Why is a long story and boring but it happened. We are awaiting word that the USFS Statewide Trail Study has been completed and for the formation of a biking club that is willing to take on the care of this trail once opened. Anyone interested please contact me at [email protected]. Please, serious offers only. Our current USFS District Ranger Lauren Stull has been very positive and wants to help but she wants it to be done right and for a plan to be in place before trail re-construction and use begins. If you live in western NC and want to be a part of this new trail or want some info let me know.

I am in over in east NC, but that sounds like a really good deal. I hope you have an easy time setting it. If there is anything that can be done for a distance let me.

This isn’t too far from Tsali which has me wondering: who maintains the Tsali trails?

Robbinsville is in a beautiful area for sure so this MTB trail should be killer. Camped at Horse Cove last spring and it was amazing.