out of whack

Viewing 29 reply threads
  • Author

So I’ve been riding my new GF for a couple of months now, and for the most part have been pleased (except for the grips, tires, and saddle, but I digress…).

Two things I have noticed that are bothering me. Often in a standing stance I feel like I am too far over the bars. Since I am standing, I don’t think it can be saddle position, but this brings me to my second point…

On long rides especially, my neck and shoulders get tense and start to burn. It’s very uncomfortable, and I never had that problem on my old HardRock.

Through my research, I have found that my discomfort could be due to saddle position, saddle height, or saddle tilt; handlebar width or height, poorly sized bike, bad posture, a combination of them all, and possibly others that I haven’t stumbled across yet. Big question: where to start?

Out of curiosity, last night I measured the width of my old handlebars and the width of my new ones. My new ones are 3 inches wider than my old ones. I started thinking – could this be the problem? And if it is, it seems logical that it could also be why I feel like I am too far over the front of the bike: since my arms are in a wider position, is my torso compensating by moving forward?

My biggest fear is that I went too small on the frame (I got the 17.5 Med instead of the 19 LG ). I hope that it is some of these other items that I can adjust and experiment width. I’m pretty much stuck with the frame size.

I’m going to start tweaking a couple of things and see if that helps, but if anybody has had similar experiences, or has suggestions of where to start, I’d appreciate it.

I’m certainly no expert on ergonomics, but from a practical (and pocketbook) sense, why not swap your old bars onto the new frame for a couple rides. It sounds like your gut feeling is leaning towards the bars, and the reasons seem sound, so rule that out first…