Newbie Here….Please HELP!!!

Tagged: 

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

I am interested in getting into biking. For the time being, I plan on riding to work and back (approx. 10 miles one way). And maybe the occasional afternoon work out. I am in fairly good shape. I run and swim frequently, and biking just seems like it would be fun to do instead of beatin’ the concrete as much as I do.

I am looking to purchase a mountain bike of some sort. Most of my riding will be on dirt trails next to the road (going over curbs non-stop) so I didnt think the road bike would be a wise choice. However, I would say 25-50% of my riding will be on asphalt.

Here is what I can tell you……

5’11
      202 lbs
      I have about 500.00 to spend.
      Live in Fayetteville, NC

I dont know what brand bike to lean towards, what size, what kind of tires, I mean…..I dont know sh*#.

Please give me some advice! Even if its to go to my local Wal Mart and buy a Huffy. I dont care. Just please help, all advice is appreciated!

For most work commutes I would recommend you try more of a road style bike vs. a mountain bike as they will be much easier to ride on the road. The gearing is better suited to road riding, the bikes are lighter, the frames are stiffer (making for easier pedaling on smooth surfaces), and the wheels are skinnier and lighter making for less rolling resistance.