New to the sport and with TONS of questions

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Hello Everyone.
      As my subject says I am new to this sport and I have TONS of questions, let me start by introducing myself.

I am a 40 years old man, from South Florida that never practice MTB, I do know however how to ride bicycle and when I was a kid did a couple of crazy things around my neighborhood, but I never thought that riding a bicycle at this level needed so much knowledge, if you want to do it right of course, is not just pedal and move forward.

My interest about MTB started because a friend got me interested, I want, I need and I am very but very compromised with losing weight, I am actually over 100lbs and I really don’t want to die yet, so, I bought a bike for me, my wife and my little girl and we are going everyday to a park called Amelia Earhart for those who live in SoF and usually ride about 1 hour plus, sometimes I ride from my home to the park and back, day after day I am falling in love with this sport, so for the last month I’ve been reading stuffs online and checking websites after websites trying to find out the right information about MTB.

The thing is that I am completely ignorant about this sport and I really want to learn and want to do this the right way.
      For now I want to learn how to set up my bike, I read a couple of site that explain about how far the saddle should be, or how the handlebar should be set and so on, but as a computer engineer I rather get my hands dirty instead of reading.
      Therefore, first question, how do I set up my bike? Or configured if we use PC terminology LOL.
      One of the guys at the park told me to go to a bike shop and asked for a “fit in” but boy I went to 3 places and they charged an arm and a leg and I am going to need them to ride the hell out of the trail, lol.