Moving to Colorado Springs…need advice

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author

Hello all,

I am an active Army soldier and am PCS’ing to Ft. Carson sometime in November/December. As a mountainbiker/hiker/outdoorsy person I am very excited to move to Colorado. However, even with all of the outstanding things to say about Ft. Carson and CO in general the one negative that I keep hearing is the crime in Colorado Springs. With the very recent birth of my first child and the possibility of deploying and leaving behind a wife and daughter, I am concerned with finding the best place to live.

Our plan for now is to move into on post housing until we get to know the area and eventually purchase a home there but because we are planners we like to have an idea of what to look for and there is no better advice than from those whom live there already.

A few things we are looking for:
      – To be within 15-20 mins max. from Ft. Carson’s gates.
      – Low crime area or relatively safe
      – Close to mountainbiking/hiking trails
      – Close to shopping center (groceries, gas station, etc.)

That basically sums it up. Any/all info is appreciated.

Thanks.