Is my bike wear and tear normal?

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Hello to all… I am new to the mountain biking community and feel out of place reading about all of these pros. I bought a Diamondback Line in early October of this year, and am having some troubles with it that surprise me for such an expensive bike(to my standards anyway…) Is this normal or is it just a non-quality bike?

What are the issues you’re having?

In the first few weeks it’s normal to have minor shifting issues as the cables stretch, and depending how much you’ve been riding, you might need to clean and/or lube the drivetrain. Tires are a constant battle and getting a flat, or having a tire slowly lose air after even the first ride can happen easily.

The brakes might feel a little weak initially if you haven’t properly bedded the pads.

Other than that, everything else should be good…

Aaron the dummy: First, Jeff nailed it. If any of the issues listed are your issues that is normal for a new bike and truthfully any bike at any time. Common issues that show up. As you learn more you will figure how to stay on top of maintenance.

Second you have a fine bike. It is a good bike especially as a beginner and while compared to other high end bikes it some might say that it is cheap in cost. No. It is not a cheap bike. I while my two bikes are considered slightly ‘higher’ end than yours I would be confident in that bike. Don’t fret you bought the wrong bike. Educate yourself on how to care for it. Ride the heck out of it and welcome to the community.

There’s always the possibility that a bike hasn’t been assembled properly, so that’s worth checking into. However that doesn’t mean there’s anything inherently wrong with the bike or components.

NMI.  Need.  More. Information.