Installing a dropper post on a 2016 Giant Anthem X 29

Singletracks Mountain Bike News, Reviews, MTB Trails and Community Protected: Forums Mountain Bike Forum Installing a dropper post on a 2016 Giant Anthem X 29

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

So, I’m pretty new to this whole MTB thing – having spent most my life on a road bike. I recently have converted to MTB, and have a Giant Anthem X 29er (2016). I am looking to upgrade to a dropper post – preferably one with the cable routed through the frame. Can anyone tell me if this is possible with this particular model (short of drilling holes in the frame) or if I am better off with a dropper post with external cabling.

Cheers!

Looked at the spec’s on Giant’s site (nice bike, btw) and all your cables are exterior routed. So, unless you want to drill holes,….

I like KindShock’s dropper posts, partly because they’re designed so the cable doesn’t move. A few well-placed zip ties and it’s off to the trails. Any 30.9mm dropper will work with your bike.

I’ve just also bought the 2016 Anthem 29.  I also bought the Giant 100mm travel dropper post as part of the deal/package and will be doing the install myself in the next couple of weeks.  Like yourself I would prefer to run the cables through the frame.

As you know from looking at your bike the majority of the cable routing is actually internal on the 2016 model (wasn’t on 2015 I beleive).

From having a quick look at my bike I think you could get a second cable through the existing hole in the down tube.  I then hope to route internally all the way from there as there is no suitable entry and exit point.

If this is at all possible the bottom bracket would have to come out during fitting.  My worry is that there might not be enough room for the cable to pass the bottom bracket after reinstalling, especially as there are some unused lugs across the top tube which might be for installing a dropper post maybe.