Help with first MTB build

Tagged: ,

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Greetings all – brand new to the forum.

I just moved to CA and live across the street from some decent trails in SoCal. My thought was to buy and entry level bike ($1100-1500) until I came into a great free frame from a friend (1 year old Kona King Kahuna).

As a newbie to mountain bikes I am just learning about all the options with components. Could someone give me a few general suggestions on where to start researching and point this blind dog in the right direction?

Due to getting the frame for free, I can stretch my budget to $2k.

Thanks for all help and suggestions.

MTI

That’s a great frame congrats. Find a good deal on either Shimano XT Groupset or SRAM X9 that should be in your price range and a good quality for that bike. If you can’t find a those groupsets in your pricerange check out SLX or X7 but it may be cheaper in the long run to spend a little more now because you probably will want to upgrade. Look for used components but be careful and bring someone with you that knows a thing or two about MTB’s as that can be costly mistake in the long run if they have high milage.

Contact DGaddis on Singletracks regarding a wheelset and don’t go cheap on a fork. I have a friend who just put a Rocksox Reba RT on his Big Kahuna and he is happy with it. He found a 2012 Reba for a super deal at $350 they are over $500 for the new models. I personally love Maxxis Ikon tires but I don’t know if that will suit your terrain out there so ask around and good luck. If you really shop around you may be able to do it for $2000.

^^What he said. Things of importance, because they have a big impact on the ride and will last a looooong time if taken care of:

-Frame
      -Wheels
      -Fork

The rest is details IMO. SLX or XT, or a mix of both for the drivetrain. Check out the Manitou Tower Pro fork, they’re 95% as good as forks that cost twice as much.