Gear ratio for climbing

Tagged: 

Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author

I am relatively new to mountain biking but learning a lot quickly. I did a ride yesterday with about 150 people. Everything was great until the first hill. It was an epic hill. I live in Vermont. It was 2.35 mile with a total vertical gain of 1100 feet. Anyhow, I was blown away by almost everyone. I ride a Trek 4300 with a granny gear ratio of 22 teeth front and 30 teeth rear. I am in great shape and a cardio freak. Is it possible everyone else had a better gear ratio or am I an enormous pussy? I would like to hear some feedback please.

"michaellifts" wrote

I am relatively new to mountain biking but learning a lot quickly. I did a ride yesterday with about 150 people. Everything was great until the first hill. It was an epic hill. I live in Vermont. It was 2.35 mile with a total vertical gain of 1100 feet. Anyhow, I was blown away by almost everyone. I ride a Trek 4300 with a granny gear ratio of 22 teeth front and 30 teeth rear. I am in great shape and a cardio freak. Is it possible everyone else had a better gear ratio or am I an enormous pussy? I would like to hear some feedback please.

My vote is for enormous pussy! 😆 😆 😆
      just kidding bro’, different gearing ratio could have been the issue, I did a road ride this past Friday with my boss and even though he did drop me (not by much) on 2 of the 4 climbs we had, he was working a lot harder then I was because of his gearing ratio compared to mine..
      I just like the way this photo came out

BTW this was just as we finished our loop at GOG (garden of the gods)…