Breaking out the Bike after a long break

Tagged: 

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author

Hi everyone. I’m a newbie here and just wanted to say hi.

I bought a Trek 6500 Mountain Bike in June of 2001. I rode a lot the first 2 years I had it but then my girlfriend kinda got jealous of it so to keep the peace biking fell along the wayside. Well we’ve just recently moved on our separate ways and one of the first things I did was break out the bike. I went on a short 3 mile ride tonight and it felt great. Never should have given it up.

I gotta take it easy because I’m 46 years old and it’s been 7 years since I’ve ridden and there is a big difference between 39 and 46 trust me 😀 So I’ll be easing back into it slowly.

Lots of good information on here and I can’t wait to get back to riding every day. The end of the relationship came right at the beginning of spring so good timing !

Don’t feel bad, I was in the same boat when I was married. I’ve been divorced for three years now and I’ve gone from one bike in the garage to five. However, 2 belong to my girlfriend (don’t be jealous!) Good luck and go get lost on the trails and enjoy yourself!!!!

"interwoven" wrote

Hi everyone. I’m a newbie here and just wanted to say hi.

I bought a Trek 6500 Mountain Bike in June of 2001. I rode a lot the first 2 years I had it but then my girlfriend kinda got jealous of it so to keep the peace biking fell along the wayside. Well we’ve just recently moved on our separate ways and one of the first things I did was break out the bike. I went on a short 3 mile ride tonight and it felt great. Never should have given it up.

I gotta take it easy because I’m 46 years old and it’s been 7 years since I’ve ridden and there is a big difference between 39 and 46 trust me 😀 So I’ll be easing back into it slowly.

Lots of good information on here and I can’t wait to get back to riding every day. The end of the relationship came right at the beginning of spring so good timing !