Bought Used Bike….get a tune up at the LBS or try to do it myself??

Singletracks Mountain Bike News, Reviews, MTB Trails and Community Protected: Forums Mountain Bike Forum Bought Used Bike….get a tune up at the LBS or try to do it myself??

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author

So…I just got my first mountain bike ever.   It’s a 2012 Specialized Hard Rock 29″ with Disc Brakes and I got it for 125 dollars off a guy on Craigslist.  Besides what I’ve read about Mountain Bikes I’m a complete newbie, but I think it was a good buy.  Kept on reading from people to not buy a bike from a store like Walmart or Target……and if you can grab a bike from one of the big bike companies like Trek, Giant, Specialized, Trek, etc, etc then you at least should have something that was built well enough to take some pounding without the bike falling apart on you.   Well…..that’s my summary of what I understood at least.   So….like i said……..I just got a Specaialied Hard Rock off of Craigslist and I was wondering what everyone would suggest that someone with my knowledge(pretty much nothing hands on….but i have watch some Youtube vids on maintenance, I’ve read a decent amt and I got the book Zinn & the Art of Mountain Bike Maintenance from the library)do at this point??   Do i get the bike a tune up??  If so should I take it to the local bike shop or should I try to do it myself??  I don’t have too much money and I would really like to learn how to take care of the bike myself and if i take it to the local bike shop doesn’t that kinda get me started on the path to not working on the bike myself and just automatically taking it to a shop to get everything done??  Is there a checklist of things to do right off the bat with a used bike you just bought??  I’ve ridden the bike around where i live just on the roads and really like it……first mountain bike and first 29 inch tires and I just want to take care of what I need to so i can enjoy it as much as I can for as long as I can.   Oh…..it defin