Bike work stand project

Tagged: 

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

<p style=”text-align: left;”>Hi</p>
      I am a relatively new to mountain biking and I am also new to bike repair but not a total novice.

I live in the UK and in school we have this thing called an Epq. It’s worth half an alevel and we have to make a project and then present it.

I have chosen to make a bike repair stand but I need help to get ideas.

Is it possible for any of you to contact me to share ideas. I will also need to inform you on what you are doing due to laws.

This is my email address: [email protected]

If I am breaking any of the forum rules then please inform me and I will act
      <p style=”text-align: right;”>Thank you</p>

What tools do you have access to?

Well I have quite a large access of tools such as power tools and a Milling machine, Lathe, Pillar drill and a couple of other things. I do also have a welding machine and a good welder. But he can not weld in stainless steel and aluminum I think. But if you have anything specific in mind then I can find out if I have access

Also if anyone has any things that they look for in a bike work stand then please say.

Also thank you for the response. I am new to this forum thing.

I suppose it depends on how tricky you want to get and how much money you want to spend then. If I was using a mill I would make the clamp head out of aluminum in a simple style (think basic park tool or others) basically two halves in a “vee” with an appropriate notch to clamp a tube. Use a piece of acme threaded rod and weld on a knob or lever to spin. The tricky and cool part would be to make a custom captured nut with a ball end so it applies the clamp evenly along with maybe a bolt on piece of steel for it to ride in to keep the aluminum from getting f-ed. Make the clamp head assembly bolt on to a nice steel frame which would also give the option of a bench mount. Done. Easy right?