Bike choice

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

I am a newbie to mountain biking. Well, actually I’m a pre- newbie. I actually will not be a newbie until I buy a bike. For a variety of reasons I have decided to get a 29" hardtail. Right now I am trying to decide between a Salsa Dos Niner or a Gary Fisher Paragon. Any thoughts or advise about the 2 or other choices that would compare?

Well, I can’t comment specifically on the two bikes you are asking about, but welcome the club. Keep us posted on what you decide.

I ride a Gary Fisher 26" G2 hardtail and I love it. Gary Fisher has a lifetime warranty on the frame and that carries a lot of weight for me.

Ultimately though the fit of the bike is the most important thing. I know both Salsa and Gary Fisher make solid bikes so you’re looking at 2 good options. Make sure the bike fits well and that should be the most important factor in your decision. Also I like having a good local shop to work with. To me that is the second most important factor in the decision making process. I like to do most of my own work on my bike, but it’s good to have people to talk to when you get lost or when things break.

I’d say you should test both of them out before you buy. If you’re leaning toward one of them but the fit is just a little off, your shop should be able to trade out the stem/handlebars/etc to help get a better fit.

Those are my initial thoughts. You’ll get a lot of input from people much smarter and with more experience than me here.

Welcome to the forum.