4 Logical Fallacies in a Letter-to-the-Editor against MTBing

Singletracks Mountain Bike News, Reviews, MTB Trails and Community Protected: Forums Mountain Bike Forum 4 Logical Fallacies in a Letter-to-the-Editor against MTBing

Viewing 18 reply threads
  • Author

As an English major with a Writing and Publication emphasis and a Philosophy minor, I am constantly thinking how to construct sound, logical arguments and how to spot fallacious, unsupported ones when I see them. You could say that I am a student of logic and argumentation.

I recently read a letter-to-the-editor against mountain bike access to a natural area that was absolutely rife with logical fallacies! You can check out the original here.

Fallacy #1: Appeal to Tradition

Much of this letter was based on the idea that "[the changes] go against the judgment of every previous DCR/MDC park administration of the last 20 years."

Yes, they do, and why is that an issue? Just because something has been done for years and years doesn’t mean that it was ever the right thing to do. The park administration could have been wrong for 20 years.

Fallacy #2: Argument from Ignorance

They try to argue that there is no ecological evidence to support the change to allow mountain bikes in this area. It must first be noted that they argue this point poorly, and secondly that arguing this point constitutes the logical fallacy of an "argument from ignorance." Just because there is no evidence for P does not necessarily mean that P is false. P is only false if you prove that P is false! Instead of trying to say that there is no support for the inclusion of mountain bikes, they should provide evidence for the exclusion of mountain bikes.

Fallacy #3: Burden of Proof