2015 Specialized Stumpjumper Comp Evo 29er Review

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

2015 Specialized Stumpjumper Comp EVO Review
      I am a 68 year old male 185 at 5-9. Been MTB since 1990. I ride mostly in the North Lake Tahoe Region, near Tahoe City and Truckee, Calif. I also ride in the Folsom Lake area of Calif. I am not a bike techy so I do not go too far down the road on componentry, but like stuff that works and works well, under demanding conditions.

I ride everything, with some fear limitations, from fast on rolling cruiser fire roads to fairly steep and technical single tracks, not so fast. Some are very technical and twisty.

I did a lot of research before buying my new MTB especially weighing 29er vs 650B (27.5).
      I have been riding a 26 Specialized S Works Enduro FSR for 7 years and have enjoyed the ride. My budget was under $4000.

I test rode a number of bikes, mostly on the street, jumping curbs and climbing. I never felt that different on a 650B than on my 26, a little more able to go over stuff, but no great shakes.

The 29er, even on the street felt totally different. You could really feel more comfortable going down stairs and just going straight at a curb with no issues.

I finally had narrowed down my search to the Scott Genius , Trek Remedy and the Stumpjumper Comp.

I talked to my LBS in Tahoe City, Ca, Olympic Bike. John and Peter spent loads of time discussing the pros and cons of 29 v 650B.

Peter had talked to me a few weeks earlier had recommended the EVO, saying it fit in the type of the terrain we had in the area and my type of riding.

So I finally get a chance to go there and see their stock. John shows me a really good deal on a 2014 Comp, not EVO. He says the difference mostly between the two is geometry and the rake of the front wheel. I should try them both.