Schwalbe Racing Ralph Tire Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.36 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
By Jeff Barber    on Dec 4, 2017

0 SHARES | 8 COMMENTS
By Jeff Barber    on Dec 26, 2017

0 SHARES | 6 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: tiubless ready or not -Guest

A: yes

mbt767 answered on May 30, 2019. Did you find this helpful? Yes | No

Answer

 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Top Rated Gear From Schwalbe
Schwalbe Jumbo Jim
Schwalbe Racing Ray 29
Schwalbe Magic Mary
Schwalbe Rocket Ron
Schwalbe Hans Dampf
Schwalbe Wicked WIll
Schwalbe Big Apple
Schwalbe Fat Albert
 


May 30, 2019
 
Model/Year: 2019

Pros: Fast, tubeless, good traction in most conditions 29 inch

Cons: wear, tend not to hold well in wet conditions

Recommendation: have it matched with a Racing Ray on the rear and the set is very fast while providing good traction at high speeds. So far, excellent on 29





July 30, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2018

Pros: Fast rolling Light

Cons: Hard take off tire from rim Not very grippy in wet condition

Recommendation: Good ofr racing





March 15, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2015 Racing Ralph 2.2

Pros: - light
- super grippy with softer compound
- good balance between rolling resistance and traction

Cons: - gets loose in wetter conditions
- expensive
- wears quickly

Recommendation: For lycra-wearing racers, this is a solid choice that will handle a variety of conditions and terrain. If you're primary interest is traction in all-mountain conditions, this is not the tire for you - there are much better options.





October 27, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Good traction
Rolls fast
Fairly light
Snakeskin sidewalls

Cons: Soft rubber wears poorly

Recommendation: yes, for racing





September 16, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Light tires that are easy to mount and are capable of going tubeless.

Cons: I've had several flats from thorns, so they're not very puncture resistant, but I guess that goes with the lightness and could be remedied if I went tubeless.

Recommendation: I haven't tried it yet, but if you have these tires try going tubeless - otherwise watch out for thorns or be prepared to patch/replace your tubes a lot!





July 24, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Lightweight, easy to mount (tubed), incredibly fast/low rolling resistance, High Resale Value

Cons: Thin sidewalls

Recommendation: I swapped on a set of Racing Ralphs for my 29er and the difference is night and day. The compound seems incredibly sticky and from the first second I stepped down on the pedal it was a night and day difference from my previous Kenda Tom Nevegal tires. While both are "2.25" the profile is dramatically different and these tires are much narrower. I'm excited to get more miles in on them and hope to not encounter some of the sidewall issues I've read about on the web from other riders. I have the EVO Pacestar version.





January 20, 2014
 
Model/Year: Tubeless Ready/Snakeskin 2013

Pros: Very light. Tough. I've never had a problem with flats or sidewalls like some have said and I ride some pretty rocky, rough trails. Sets up TL with a hand pump.

Cons: Expensive. Not the longest wearing tire I've used but it is acceptable. 1000-1500 miles.

Recommendation: I use this as a rear tire with a Nobby Nic up front for a little extra traction. Tire works great. I've tried pretty much everything out there and keep coming back to these.





November 25, 2013
 
Model/Year: Racing Ralph

Pros: Lightweight, great grip in corners, easy to install, good in mud, hard back and sand. Grips rocks and dry roots

Cons: Feels like there is a great deal of rolling resistance on asphalt, but I usually keep them off road anyway

Recommendation: I would get these again if I found the same deal. $38 a tire that were used only once over $90 new. Hell ya!





October 13, 2013
 
Model/Year: 27.5 650B mid price/2013

Pros: Fast, even at low pressures
Great grip on most surfaces.
So far good wear and not flats
sealed up great tubeless on Stans EX Flow Rims
Doesn't load up in mud as much as I expected
Very light, tall tire width of 2.25 runs 2.3
Good on pavement
Predictable

Cons: Will sometimes lose grip on wet roots and rocks.

Recommendation: In have this tire mounted on Stan's EX flow rims (wide) and on the front of my 08 S Works Stumpy FSR. I barely have clearance. The diameter is 27.75". I would buy them again.





October 13, 2013
 
Pros: fast light

Cons: expensive thin sidewalls

Recommendation: super fast, and good only on perfect trail conditions, slips on anything wet. sidewall is thin and gets squirmy at low pressures. came wih my rip9, not worth the cost in my opinion.