Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.64 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $880
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: Weight? -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
71 bikes
 
  Guest
on Apr 23, 2019
on Jul 10, 2018
  tmc309
on Feb 4, 2018
on Jan 16, 2018
on Sep 12, 2017
 
Top Rated Gear From Specialized
Specialized Stumpjumper FSR
Specialized Stumpjumper
Specialized Align
Specialized Enduro
Specialized S-Works
Specialized Air Tool Sport
Specialized Enduro SL Comp FSR
Specialized Hotrock
 


May 29, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2000

Pros: Great geometry

Cons: old
not compatible to new upgrades

Recommendation: A great begginer cross country bike...





August 22, 2012
 
Model/Year: Rockhopper Comp/2011

Pros: Sturdy Frame! Feels incredibly solid on the trails. All the components operate smoothly and are very quiet. The brakes stop you instantly!

Cons: The tires need to be upgraded for sure, had a flat from a thorn first time out on the trails.

Recommendation: This is a great bike for beginners to get to make that next move into getting serious for riding trails on a regular basis.





March 10, 2010
 
Pros: Solid Frame, Relatively light, Easy to control in technical spots.

Cons: Needs some upgrades, wheels#1, pedals#2, and Sadle#3

Recommendation: I have had this bike for about 3 1/2 years, and it has been a good purchase. My only issue is that I have had to replace the wheels with a pair of downhill rims (azonic outlaws). I also replaced the pedals with some welgo dual pedals. After these modifications, this bike is a tank, a relatively lite one at that. It feels great,and it is a great platform to make upgrades to. If you were to upgrade to the pro-disc, i would recommend testing the Tora vs. the Recon to see if you feel that the recon is worth the increase in price.





August 14, 2009
 
Pros: lightweight, good handling, smooth shifting

Cons: the back hub starting making a grinding noise so i had to replace it. since then it has been perfect.

Recommendation: a great bike for the money





August 7, 2008
 
Pros: Solid frame handles tight corners well and can go over just about anything.

Cons: I replaced the pedals already. I do have some issues with the shifting skiping which is a problem with the cables I am told. Also I bent the rotor a bit and have issues with the correct tightness without it squeaking like crazy. I also took a hard spill and bent the front rim to almost beyond repair.

Recommendation: I can abuse this with almost anything technical XC to technical DH. It takes it all and keeps on going. A stronger set of rims would be nice, but hey its a great first time ride overall.





April 12, 2008
 
Pros: It's a good geometry, not too heavy. The BB5's are a good brakeset for this well balanced bike.

Cons: However, with the cost of upgrades and repair after a year of riding hard I would have done better with the stumpjumper.

Recommendation: Its a great bike to start with. Its definitely trail capable. If you are new to the sport or diehard-hardtail you will be glad to have this one.





March 8, 2008
 
Pros: Well, being a newbee on the block I talk from little experience. However, 42 yrs old 282lbs living in the mountains of Northern Mexico I feel as though Iam gaining on the knowledge end quickly. The bike rawks! I have a 23" extra large frame, my size at 6'4" demands it! I find this Rockhopper everything I could possibly need at this point for riding hard in the mountains. I need the strength of the frame and the braking power of the disc brakes, great! This bike was a suprize birthday gift and was already equiped with a different comfy saddle, and I use conventional pedals with toe straps, works for me very well! It's a great climber and downhill ride. I do wonder how much better the full suspension bikes could possibly be??? I'm pleased with this bike in almost every aspect...

Cons: The one area I think could be improved upon is the shifting package, I would say overall the shifting is good! But, I've had to do many adjustments to fit my demands in the riding I do... that may be due to it's newness with settling in...

Recommendation: I strongly recommend this ride to others, especially those of us in the WOW category (also known as Clydesdales) Listen to the others on the saddle change, they are most likely right and I recommend the conventioanl peddals with straps, works great for me in my type of rocky, and mountainous riding; holds my feet inplace, no slipping and gashing going on here.





February 15, 2008
 
Pros: The bike handles great in tight spots and is perfect for trail riding.

Cons: Everyone says the saddle sucks. Well it does and I am getting ready to replace it. I also don't for the pedals. I wiped out 2 weeks ago and a pedal messed up my calf pretty good. Time to go clip less.

Recommendation: Great hardtail for just about anybody. Remember to get a new seat and pedals because you will run into problems. Handles hills, flats, and tight spots well. Enjoy your ride and watch out for small stumps they are very unforgiving.





September 10, 2007
 
Pros: Very light weight bike. Great look. Solid components. Great value for a overall solid bike.

Cons: -Stock tires need upgrading to a more knobby tire if riding rougher terrain. -My back hub started making a funny noise after a couple rides....the shop advised it's not a safety issue, but the cones on the rear could have been machined a little better, but the shop just added a little more lube and now noise is very faint...can't hear on track anyway.

Recommendation: Very happy with this bike for my first MTB. Looking forward to many great rides.





September 8, 2007
 
Pros: Great bike with upgraded components from the Rockhopper Comp 2007

Cons: Tires aren't very durable. After four rides I pierced the tire with a small object that pierced the tube.

Recommendation: I love this bike!!!!!!!!!!!



Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc 4.64 out of 5 based on 16 ratings. 16 user reviews.