Rocky Mountain Vertex Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.50 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $5,169
Loading...
By Greg Heil    on Mar 20, 2018

0 SHARES | 0 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
4 bikes
 
on Apr 22, 2019
on Apr 22, 2019
on Oct 26, 2016
  joão
on Oct 28, 2015
 
Product Options (11)
Rocky Mountain Vertex 50
Rocky Mountain Vertex 10
Rocky Mountain Vertex 990 rsl 2013
Rocky Mountain Vertex 970 RSL
Rocky Mountain Vertex 950 RSL
Rocky Mountain Vertex 950
Rocky Mountain Vertex 930
Rocky Mountain Vertex 24
Rocky Mountain Vertex Carbon 90
Rocky Mountain Vertex Carbon 70
Rocky Mountain Vertex Carbon 50
 


May 11, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Very fast, nimble, and extremely lightweight. Lightest frame on the market, and is a very good deal for the price. Unbelievably stiff, and your back wheel control is better than any hardtail bike I've ridden. Also very responsive.

Cons: Unlike the newer models, the headtube is longer, and makes handling in the front and aggressive tight cornering slightly awkward. Nothing to be afraid of, it's only noticeable when riding at a high level or racing. I would definitely ignore this when buying.

Recommendation: This bike is an all-round demon of an XC race bike. I would recommend it for anyone on any level. It will without a doubt improve your performance.





September 25, 2009
 
Pros: Light. The hydro brakes are excellent, and I love the fox fork. Smooth as butter shifting. It comes with a great stock set-up, so there's no need to go out and spend more cash on better components.

Cons: The only thing I've had trouble with is the spring in the right pedal shifting around so the clip collapses.

Recommendation: Great bike. All-around good set-up. It will bring you much joy, especially if you have some great XC terrain.





December 16, 2008
 
Pros: This bike is responsive and nible on singletracks and open trails. Climbs well and the downhill trails is good. Sturdy and solid. The Marzocchi forks work great for XC and singletrack as it is designed. Components are working flawless so far, but anymore crashes, who knows, right? Rides great on those flat training rides.

Cons: Didn't like the choice of tires or pedals for a $1200 bike. I replaced the pedals with platform type and more aggressive type tires like the Fire XC's. Swapped out the brake pads. A fork with a lockout would help alot.

Recommendation: For those who ride trails and singletracks, this bike will fit the bill.





October 27, 2008
 
Pros: This bike only knows one thing that is traveling forward...With every pedal stroke this accelerates

Cons: Harsh....Nuff said.

Recommendation: Great bike for XC racers a great start on the parts not too expensive this bike is well suited for racing...Not so great for long rides..





November 27, 2007
 
Pros: Despite the just ok parts spec, along with the rocky mountain branded cockpit components, this bike is one hell of a cross country race bike!! I own this bike along with a giant reign O, I ride the giant most times, but I race this one. I have replaced some of the stock stuff, but this bike is a bullet right out of the box, handles technical singletrack flawlessly, and for 1200 bucks, you can't go wrong.

Cons: could use a better fork, with a bit more adjustment options, although when set right, it handles not too bad. Ditch the tires, they suck, I am running 2.10 panaracer fire xc pros, and find them to be well suited to the bike.

Recommendation: if you are a hard tail lover, this bike is for you, especially if you ride a lot of rolling singletrack, and the price is sure right.



Rocky Mountain Vertex 4.50 out of 5 based on 5 ratings. 5 user reviews.