Pivot Mach 6 Carbon Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
5.00 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
By Jeff Barber    on Sep 16, 2014

0 SHARES | 1 COMMENTS
By Michael Paul    on Jun 12, 2015

0 SHARES | 2 COMMENTS
By Michael Paul    on Jun 26, 2015

0 SHARES | 3 COMMENTS
By Greg Heil    on Jul 11, 2016

24 SHARES | 21 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
67 bikes
 
2 weeks ago
  Guest
on Jul 25, 2019
on Jul 14, 2019
on May 29, 2019
  Guest
on Apr 21, 2019
 
Top Rated Gear From Pivot
Pivot Mach 429
Pivot Firebird
Pivot Mach 429 Carbon
Pivot SwitchBlade
Pivot Mach 5.7
Pivot LES Fat Bike
Pivot Mach 429SL Carbon
Pivot Firebird 2012
 


June 3, 2016
 
Pros: Very responsive, fun and durable

Cons: Pricey no lifetime warranty

Recommendation: This forest missile is the ultimate shredding weapon that will push you to the limit.





December 12, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2016 Pivot Mach 6 Carbon

Pros: Amazing climber and even better going down -- smooth as silk.

Recommendation: Buy this bike blows the competition (Santa Cruz) away -- Pivot makes amazing bikes





September 27, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2015 Pivot Mach 6 XO

Pros: This bike is truly the jack of all trades, it climbs like a mountain goat, DW Link is the key factor here. It is very plush and fast when pointed down as well.

Cons: Shock linkage develops squeak over time, can be fixed with some lube and a torque wrench.

Recommendation: This is the one and only bike that I have owned that can do it all. Tight singletrack, climb, enjoy bike parks ect...My bike is stealth black, XO drive train, FOX Float X shock and a Pike fork, also XT Brakes. Total weight with xpedo baldwin pedals is 27.9 pounds





June 12, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Eats up anything you're willing to throw it into in chunky/techy downhill sections. Builds confidence from the first ride.

Cons: Cable management needs some finesse to minimize cable rub on the frame

Recommendation: Highly recommended! This bike will make you want to ride every day of the week.





December 16, 2014
 
Pros: Great climbing Great descending Smooth and quiet Travel to spare

Cons: Cable wiring isn't "ideal" but I can see why it's that way

Recommendation: I've built this bike up at 27.5 pounds with the following: ibis 741 wheelset, maxxis ikon front, conti race king rear (more on that choice in a minute), fox 34 160 pushed, XX1 group set, hope tech 3 E4 brakes, answer carbon bars, Thompson dropper post, wtb pure V seat. This is replacing my much loved mach 5.7 aluminum. Everything the mach 5.7 was amazing at, this bike improves upon! I find it easier to pedal uphill, way smoother on the downs! I really didn't think you couldn't do any better than the 5.7. I did drink the 27.5 koolaide, and I figured I'd jump on the side rim thing too (those are amazing as well). So I built this bike up, then we moved to wichita Kansas...I'm told kansas is the 7th flattest state, but wichita itself has NO HILLS... Big bummer with a bike that is touted as an amazing downhill bike. However, I was simply floored with this bikes ability to accelerate and maintain speed on flats! Don't worry, I've ridden it in northwest arkansas and southwest Missouri on the worst it can throw, and it just simply shines. If you were like me and worried about climbing capabilities, forget it! You'll forget you're even on a 6 inch travel bike...until you need it, and it's there! I don't know if you've ever heard of the ouachita challenge, but I would ride it in that race in a heartbeat!



Pivot Mach 6 Carbon 5.00 out of 5 based on 5 ratings. 5 user reviews.