Kenda Nevegal Tire Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.38 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $45
Loading...
By Greg Heil    on Feb 10, 2014

1 SHARES | 3 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 

-1

Q: What's the difference between this Kendal nevegal tires and the Kendal several sports? -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
 
Product Options (3)
Kenda Nevegal John Tomac Signature Series
Kenda Kenda Nevegal 650b Folding Tire
Kenda Nevegal X Pro 29
 


May 24, 2019
 
Model/Year: 2015 27.5 folding, Tomac series

Pros: Grip in climbs, grip in turns, grip on roots and rocks, mud handling, dirt handling, dry or wet traction. Bomb proof--long lasting and never flats.

Cons: Heavy. Poor rolling resistance. Slow as heck on pavement.

Recommendation: What a great tire! This was my first true set of MTB tires, and these Nevegals were awesome, as I learned how to get through obstacles and have fun. A novice needs good traction to get through stuff that a better rider can cruise through. These tires provide crazy good traction. And a novice doesn't want to stop for flats... these never flat, no matter how much I abused them in the rocks--no cuts, no holes, no pinch flats. And I was using them with tubes. You can't race on these, b/c they're too slow, but if you're looking for a fun ride, these are great.





October 14, 2017
 
Model/Year: 2017

Pros: Climbing grip Breaking grip Cornering confidence Puncture resistance Sizing options

Cons: Can be hard to mount Pretty sticky in tacky stuff

Recommendation: These have been my go to tire for years. First bought them during a MTB trip in Arkansas years ago when the sharp shale kinda rock there shredded the IRC's I had at the time. From time to time, I've tried something different, but always come back to them. Most recently, tried WTB Velociraptors to see of there's anything new with them. Not really. Still a great tire, but they aren't Nevegals. The Nevegals are tough, solid, and confidence inspiring. My usual rides include hard and soft pack, roots, rocks, both stationary and loose (big enough to ding the chain ring), with short steep technical climbs. Also have plenty of fast flowing trails. Good cornering, excellent climbing, good bump control. My setup is 26x2.1 rear and 26x2.35 front. Great combo, for me anyway. The only down side for me is riding tacky stuff. Nevegals seem to really stick in it... the knobs dig. But, I usually avoid tacky, and never ride mud, so can't comment there.





March 25, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Good grip
No skid
Wet traction

Cons: Pavement rolling resistance, but who cares?

Recommendation: Riding these on XC trails. Great tires.





March 25, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: I like them. tough, good grip, last a long time

Cons: heavy but not sure because I have not compared them to many others

Recommendation: I recommend





November 25, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2015 Nevegal X Pro 26 x 2.35

Pros: The X Pro is stable, good hookup in back, good traction, tracks really well as a rear tire. Rolls well. This is a TOTALLY different tire than the original Nevegal.

Cons: Hard to set up tubeless. A little vague for a front tire imo; the shoulder knobs are not prominent enough and the profile is too rounded imo for the front.

Recommendation: I have really liked this tire as a rear tire. Interestingly, that's the exact opposite of the original Nevegal.





April 25, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2014 Kenda Nevegal 27.5

Pros: These are fine tires, very grippy and stable. I haven't thought about them since I started riding them.

Cons: None so far.





March 24, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2015 Nevegal x Pro 650b

Pros: Grips on everything
Fairly low rolling reistance

Cons: Tough to setup tubeless

Recommendation: Highly recommend this as a go to all condition kinda of tire. When I ride with this tire it installs confidence because I know my tire is grabbing and holding to the trail. Best tire I've used.





March 17, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Great cornering grip
Good on muddy climbs





December 22, 2014
 
Pros: Grip
Durability

Cons: Weight
Slow for my conditions

Recommendation: I had this on the rear of my last bike for a short time with a Blue Groove on the front. It was ok at the time (2010 or so), but I think for modern XC 29er bikes like I ride now, I want a little faster and lighter tire. Again, nothing really wrong with this one, just not for me.





September 16, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2013 Kenda Nevegal DTC John Tomac 26x2.1

Pros: Good grip
Wet traction

Cons: Heavy
Rolling resistance
Tread wears quickly on pavement
Needs 40psi

Recommendation: I would recommend this tire for all off road use. The tire grips well but needs 40 psi for good handling and pinch flat protection. If you would like a slower wearing tire, try the Kenda Kinetics.



Kenda Nevegal 4.38 out of 5 based on 66 ratings. 66 user reviews.