Giant Anthem Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.56 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $2,000
Loading...
Weight: 27 grams
By Corey Maddocks    on Oct 7, 2014

0 SHARES | 9 COMMENTS
By Jeff Barber    on Jun 28, 2017

0 SHARES | 0 COMMENTS
By Jeff Barber    on Sep 15, 2011

0 SHARES | 8 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
164 bikes
 
on Sep 29, 2019
on Aug 16, 2019
on Aug 4, 2019
on Jul 29, 2019
  brentz
on May 7, 2019
 
Product Options (16)
Giant Anthem Advanced
Giant Anthem 0
Giant Anthem 1
Giant Anthem 2
Giant Anthem X 29er 1
Giant Anthem X 29er 2
Giant Anthem X 29er 3
Giant Anthem 29er 4
Giant Anthem Advanced 27.5 0 Team
Giant Anthem Advanced 27.5 1
Giant Anthem Advanced 27.5 2
Giant Anthem 27.5 3
Giant Anthem X Advanced 29er 1
Giant Anthem X 29er 0
Giant Anthem Advanced SX 27.5
Giant Giant Anthem x2
 


February 17, 2017
 
Model/Year: Giant Anthem X 29er 2017

Pros: Light Fast Fox 32 SC Suspension

Cons: None

Recommendation: Great bike, it's great for a trail bike as long as you don't have huge drops. The XC geometry combined with the 29er tires just works





December 28, 2013
 
Model/Year: Anthem/2014

Pros: Very quick
Very fast
Solid drivetrain

Cons: Week tires

Recommendation: My brother and I demoed this bike and I was surprised at how fast it is. Also very quick out of the hole. The bike we rode had a Sram 2 x 10 crankset instead of the Shimano setup but we both loved it. Very solid and reliable shifts. The bike felt much lighter than I expected being it was the first 27.5 I have ridden. My bro tends to like a lot of suspension and he complained it didn't have the front travel he likes with his 130mm forks on his Kona Dawg. True I too would prefer more in the front but the 100mm forks probably contribute to the easy feeling this bike gives you in the corners. We both felt that the tires need to be more aggressive for the trails we ride. This bike is definitely on my wishlist. As for my bro, he ordered a Trance 27.5 to get the 140mm fork and 5 1/2" suspension instead of the 4" this bike has. I'll let you know how that rides when he takes delivery in a week.





December 22, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2011 Anthem X1

Pros: Maestro
Fork
Tires
Drivetrain
shocks are tuned for racing
good stock wheelset

Cons: shocks are tuned for racing

Recommendation: I got the 2011 Anthem X1 26" bike as my first real bike, for racing and everyday riding. This is almost a perfect bike for my style of riding. Crazy fast, super comfortable. I use it for XC racing and as an everyday rider. I even entered a mild super-D event and it rocked it! solid drivetrain with XT where it really counts, and SLX on the things that just need to work well. I have found that the harder I push the bike, the better it handles. the suspension is set a little stiff for everyday riding, but as soon as you open up the power on it, it makes sense. It eats downhills for breakfast, then launches up the next hill without even flinching. I am looking at the new 27.5 carbon model for my next race season.





December 18, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2006

Pros: it's full suspinsion

Cons: it's an xc bike

Recommendation: go am!!!





December 12, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2011

Pros: Efficient pedaling
Dependable drivetrain
Relatively lightweight cockpit components (Giant branded)
Comfortable for all day riding
Lifetime frame warranty

Cons: Long chainstays
Avid Elixir 3 brakes
Heavy stock wheels

Recommendation: I rode this bike for 2 years and really have no complaints. The long chainstays made switchbacks challenging, but they also provide stability for fast sketchy descents. The design is unchanged for 2012 and 2013, and of course the original owner gets Giant's lifetime frame warranty, making this a solid choice for trail riding and racing.





December 2, 2013
 
Pros: Dependable

Cons: Weight

Recommendation: It's been a good frame. Never had any weld issues or dents. This is my second anthem frame. Only because I like the first one. Good buy for the money.





December 11, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2008

Pros: This bike is a beast, I have ridden it for four season thru all seasons up in the North East, NH mainly. It is very fast, I have never ridden a bike that pedals so smoothly.
- The Maestro Suspension on this bike is AMAZING! Comfortable, plush and durable!
- Nothing climbs like an Anthem!!!

Cons: Yeah right.. please!





December 10, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Maestro suspension, light, componentry, fast handling, climbs like a hardtail

Recommendation: This bike with a carbon frame (Anthem X Advanced) is awesome. It is light and agile while having an awesome suspension set up. This is by far the best overall bike I have ever ridden.





December 21, 2011
 
Model/Year: Giant Anthem X 29er 0 2012

Pros: Super fast rolling, excellent down hill speed and control, great for log rides and rock gardens.

Cons: Hard work in really tight single track and slow steep ascents.

Recommendation: Highly recommended for marathon XC. Very fast bike and good all rounder. The 2012 X0 with full XT components and Rockshox suspension is definitely the best value for money FS 29er on the market this year.





November 23, 2011
 
Pros: Fast rolling, good climbing and light for a FS 29er. Geometry works great for me, I'm 5'9" 165Lbs and ride a M frame. Even works good in tight technical trailwork for a 29er.

Cons: Wheelset could be better, but I will be upgrading once these wear out.

Recommendation: I actually have the X3 with a full XT upgrade and carbon riser bars. Bike weighs 28lbs 5oz with current setup. Lighter/stiffer wheelset will make a big difference from my readings. Great XC 29 bike for the money.



Giant Anthem 4.56 out of 5 based on 17 ratings. 17 user reviews.