Santa Cruz Chameleon Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
5.00 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
By Aaron Chamberlain    on Sep 5, 2017

831 SHARES | 4 COMMENTS
By Matt Miller    on Oct 8, 2018

402 SHARES | 6 COMMENTS
By Matt Miller    on Jan 29, 2019

35 SHARES | 0 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
76 bikes
 
on Oct 3, 2016
on Sep 15, 2014
1 week ago
3 weeks ago
3 weeks ago
 
Product Options (1)
2017 Santa Cruz Chameleon
 


April 14, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2017

Pros: Plus tires Changeable Drop Outs to accommodate 27.5 or 29" tires and can switch from 1x11 or single speed. Upgraded Raceface, Cane Creek, and SRAM components in many places Threaded BB Wide rims Tubeless tires and rims

Cons: No dropper seatpost on base model Rockshox Recon fork lacks some adjustability

Recommendation: I love this bike. It is my first mountain bike since the 1990s and is a huge upgrade. After tons of research I decided on a plus tire hardtail and this fit the bill perfectly.





March 22, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Fits big tires
Converted to 1x pretty easily
Good technical ride
Hardtail
Fits big fork
Cool name

Cons: Not the best jumper

Recommendation: This is a great bike for any trail rider. It handles rough terrain well for a hardtail, it's light, it runs one chainring well, it fits big tires, and it climbs pretty well. You could use it for XC or Enduro racing, although Enduro racing requires a little more body language. Its one drawback is that it doesn't jump very well. I'm not a big jumper to start, but during my shakedown of the bike at a local indoor bike park, the bike just wouldn't jump as well as other bikes. This may be due to the long top tube. Besides that, this bike will take you anywhere, anyhow.





May 20, 2012
 
Model/Year: not sure

Pros: excellent frame and the guy i bought it from upgraded all the components. It is an amazing bike.

Cons: none so far

Recommendation: defiantly go for it, it is a great hardtail.





April 12, 2007
 
Pros: The frame is a great fit for me - compact and responsive frame but I don't feel claustrophobic like I did riding the Giant P-series. Lightweight, affordable (moreso when bought used) and strong - this is a bike that I will have for a long time!

Cons: No problems with frame - only complaints with the setup are minor component issues due to riding.

Recommendation: Recently upgraded to this frame - and it is an integral part of creating a perfect all around bike. I have no hesitations taking this bike downtown, to the park, on the trails or commuting the 15 miles of paved road home if i miss the train.



Santa Cruz Chameleon 5.00 out of 5 based on 4 ratings. 4 user reviews.