Motobecane Motobecane 529 HT Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.29 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $400
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: weight -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
31 bikes
 
1 week ago
on Jun 25, 2019
  Guest
on Apr 23, 2019
on Jul 11, 2018
on Jul 11, 2018
 
Top Rated Gear From Motobecane
Motobecane Sturgis Bullet
Motobecane Fantom Team
Motobecane Fly Team 29er
Motobecane NightTrain Bullet
Motobecane HAL 6 Team 12
Motobecane Fantom Comp
Motobecane Motobecane Fantom 6by6 Pro DS
Motobecane Motobeacane NightTrain Bullet
 


November 24, 2019
 
Model/Year: 2019 MB 529HT

Pros: Quality entry level components Hydraulic disc brakes Altus FD SRAM X4 RD

Cons: Requires a little bit more effort to assemble

Recommendation: Excellent bike! Nice entry level components. Comparison shopping would place a similarly equipped bike in the $550-$700 range. Not hard to assemble, but needed a LBS to complete the FD alignment, adjustment, and indexing. I'm 6'2" and 245 lbs and purchased a 21" frame. The 19" probably would have provided a little more clearance from the cross bar; it's snug but definitely workable. Very happy with the purchase. Very happy with the quality.





October 2, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2018 Motobecane 529 HT

Pros: Ready to ride in 30 minutes. Brakes and gearing tuned right out of the box! Looks so nice! Flexible frame sizing options. I am 6'6" and had no idea how much better a properly fit bike is to ride.

Cons: 2 bolt stem and narrow bars were a disappointment but easily replaced. This is the first high-quality bike I have owned since my BMX days in the early 80's and it is a joy to ride!!!

Recommendation: If you want to spend $400 to $500 bucks on a solid bike with great parts that looks really good and rides better (seemingly noiseless) you should look into Motobecane and this model at the web store.





February 8, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Great frame Easy internet ordering, arrived in 4 days, recommend getting LBS to size you Draco Hyraulic disc brakes Nice WTB saddle

Cons: Tires, handlebars, stem, pedals People think they're bad because of the factory direct internet thing, not true they are very good.

Recommendation: Its all about the gear. As with any other bike you customize to suit your needs. These are simply good bikes like any other. Don't be discouraged by the internet or think the local bike shop won't like you. My LBS loves motobecane, they just can't make a living off them like they do with their trek or giant etc.. dealership. But they will gladly help any rider with any bike. If they won't, they're not the only LBS around and they won't be around for long. If youre looking for a good bike, here it is. I've beat the snot out of mine for about 4 years now and its showing no signs of fatigue. I have purchased several motobecane bikes and will buy more. Got grandkids.





December 4, 2017
 
Pros: Budget 29" hardtail, hydraulic discs

Cons: Internet ordering

Recommendation: Great





July 13, 2017
 
Model/Year: 2017

Pros: PRICE POINT! Hydraulic Brakes 29er 3x8 for a little more dual sportability Paint scheme looks nice

Cons: heavy handle bars are a bit narrow gears shift horribly slow and with little durability

Recommendation: The best bang for your buck if you're just getting into the MTB scene. I'd be willing to buy a fleet of these just for my friends to get to tag along. If you want to test the waters and see if you like MT biking, get this bike, if you dont like the sport, you can enjoy riding it around on the street as well.





September 30, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2016

Pros: - Hydraulic Disk Brakes
- 29" tires
- SramX4 RD
- Nice speed and control on trail, heavier than higher-end bikes but handles anything I throw at it with maturity.
- Versatile frame for tire upgrades/plus tires.

Cons: Heavy. Pedals and seat needed upgrade right out of box (what else to expect?). Entry-level drivetrain may need more upkeep than starting a bit higher up.

Recommendation: Do not fall for the Motobecane Fantom SPORT for the same price -- yes, the rims are painted, but no, you do not get the same value. This model is better!! I've had both and the choice (seemingly insignificant) is clear to me.





August 27, 2015
 
Pros: Hydraulic breaks, Sram X-4 components, 90 mm travel fork with hydraulic lockout, very reasonably priced for what you get.

Cons: I've broken a hanger, everything else has held up well.

Recommendation: Overall, a very good value for a hardtail 29er with decent componants, good brakes, and suspension, for $400 no tax, no shipping, you get to put it together.



Motobecane Motobecane 529 HT 4.29 out of 5 based on 7 ratings. 7 user reviews.