Salsa Spearfish Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.25 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
By Matt Miller    on May 3, 2019

0 SHARES | 5 COMMENTS
By Matt Miller    on Jul 9, 2019

0 SHARES | 9 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
71 bikes
 
on Sep 28, 2019
on Sep 16, 2019
on Jul 25, 2019
on Jun 6, 2019
on Mar 22, 2019
 
Product Options (2)
Salsa salsa spearfish 1 2014
Salsa Spearfish Carbon
 


October 18, 2014
 
Pros: Very comfortable XC bike. Bought the 2012 Spearfish 1 frame and built it up w/1x10

Cons: backend is squirrelly occasionally. I haven't been able to track down why yet but, not at all a deal breaker.

Recommendation: great bike. Def'n my favorite XC MTB bike to date. Glad that I built it up as opposed to buying the full package. I was able to build it the way that I wanted and save a chunk of cash.





September 1, 2014
 
Model/Year: spearfish 2014

Pros: Lightweight, excellent climbing

Cons: Pedal strikes more than other bikes I owned.





April 25, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Lightweight and excellent build options. Rear suspension feels like it has way more than 80mm of travel. Love the blue anno paint.

Cons: Although my test ride was limited to about 8 miles, I experienced several pedal strikes along the way. Confirmed by another rider on the same bike later in the day. No water bottle mount on the bottom of the downtube.

Recommendation: This is a surprisingly playful bike for just 80mm of travel. A good bike for dedicated hard tail riders who want something with a little more give for epic rides.





February 24, 2013
 
Model/Year: Spearfish

Pros: Light. Aggressive Xcountry bike.

Cons: Rockshox Monarch R is not the greatest shock, very little adjustment and no lockout.

Recommendation: Purchased as a frame and built up with good components. Frame is light and responsive. Rockshox Monarch R has only a rebound adjustment. Pick a better shock. But there is little frame bob even when standing and mashing down hard. Excellent cross country machine.
Not super plush but great for riders who aren't looking for the mega-squish ride.



Salsa Spearfish 4.25 out of 5 based on 4 ratings. 4 user reviews.