Rocky Mountain ETSX-70 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.29 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

1

Q: How much for the bike -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
9 bikes
 
on Feb 13, 2018
on Apr 11, 2017
on Dec 17, 2016
on Jul 25, 2016
on May 19, 2016
 
Product Options (2)
Rocky Mountain ETSX-50
Rocky Mountain ETSX-30
 


April 22, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2007

Pros: very light with lots of adaptability. suspension can be adjusted for xc race or AM riding

Cons: frame tubing is very thin and easy to dent

Recommendation: good all around bike





September 6, 2011
 
Pros: love the clearance from the ground to the front sprocket

Cons: Nothing!

Recommendation: broken stuff with use and have replaced with upgraded parts - sram x9 rear derailer, sram x0 grip shifters.

takes a beating and keeps going strong!





June 25, 2009
 
Pros: the best climber I have ever riden. solid on the downhill

Cons: can't get that bloddy front derailer to work properly and have heard similar complaints

Recommendation: buy this bike and if you have the extra $$$$ buy the etsx 70 for the XT components.





May 22, 2009
 
Pros: Great set up. Very sturdy.

Cons: Get new tires right away

Recommendation: This is a great all mountian bike. Very durable. I ride my bike hard and this take a great amount of punishment.





August 3, 2008
 
Pros: It's would be a great ride when it works

Cons: Derailer works when cable is stabilized by cable guides, however they are fragile and break easy. Simple fix you think? NO. This $2 part is riveted to the frame. So, no way to raplace it. Worst of all, the company (Rocky Mountain) will not support the repair, even when the bike is within warranty. Pass on this bike (Pass on Rocky Mountain).

Recommendation: Dont buy from Rocky Mountain.





June 11, 2008
 
Pros: I owned this bike and entered the original review. One of the mounts welded to the frame developed a crack. This was a 2004 model. I contacted the warranty department and within a week I had a brand new 2008 ETSX-70. It comes with the Fox RP23 Pro Pedal rear suspension. Better than my first frame and warranty was fantastic. Even in the lock out position the rear suspension is stiff but eat bumps and large stumps and such. Love it.

Cons: The lock out is hard to reach and with the bottle cage it is difficult to operate. Minor problem though.

Recommendation: Rocky Mountain was fantastic at replacing my frame. Swapped all my old parts onto the new frame. It has 5" of travel in the rear. Still the best bike I have ever riden or owned. If your into XC or light downhill, this is the bike for you. It eats just about any kind of trail excluding freeride and downhill.





April 23, 2007
 
Pros: I previously owned a Santa Cruz Superlight with a Rock-Shox Psylo U-turn fork. I love this bike. If there is pedal bob, I never notice it. With Fox Vanilla (with lockout) in the front is super responsive. Eats the small and the big stuff. With adjustable travel in the rear as well as the front it is totally tunable. I rarely adjust the rear travel but have on occassion. It also have Rapid Rise XT in the rear. It will shift under relatively heavey load even uphill. The rear shock is a Fox Vanilla with lockout.

Cons: Although the rear shock is great, the lockout is hard to get to. If you have a water bottle cage on it is even harder to get to. A remote might be the answer for some. The bike performs so well on uphills, you don't need to lock it out. Also, Rapid Rise isn't for everyone. It is touchy when shifting to a higher gear say on a downhill.

Recommendation: Overall I highly recommend this bike. Most riders with have to adjust to shifting in reverse. Although upshifting is touchy, with practice it is nice to upshift 3 gears at once with easy. It is one of the most capable climbers I have ever riden. Both front and rear shocks are adjustble for travel, compression and rebound. Along with a light, handmade, aluminum frame you can't beat it.



Rocky Mountain ETSX-70 4.29 out of 5 based on 7 ratings. 7 user reviews.