Scott Big Jon Fat Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.00 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $1,600
Loading...
I Want One  
By Greg Heil    on Feb 26, 2016

4 SHARES | 2 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
14 bikes
 
on Feb 23, 2016
on Jan 3, 2016
  benben
2 weeks ago
3 weeks ago
  jeke
on Feb 18, 2018
 
Top Rated Gear From Scott
Scott Spark 950
Scott Spark 750 Bike
Scott Spark 40
Scott Scale 920
Scott Scale 940
Scott Scott Sub 40
Scott Spark 760 Bike
Scott Aspect 66
 


January 28, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2017 Scott Big Jon Fat Bike

Pros: Very nice mid-tier fat bike at a great price. Easy to handle and ride, good weight.

Cons: Stock Fat bike tires are ok, but could be better. Plastic zip ties hold braking/shifting cables to bike frame - 4 or 5 of them snapped off in the cold.

Recommendation: I would highly recommend this bike to anyone looking to get into fat biking. I got a pair of studded tires for winter riding in addition to the tires it came with.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




October 30, 2017
 
Pros: MSRP $1600 Great bike and decent components for the price. Plenty of room to upgrade. XT rear derailuer with clutch, Race Face Cranks, and Swalbe Jumbo Jims 4.8" all stock. Can get on Sale in the $1200 range too. Because it's my secondary bike, I'll leave Stock brakes and Shifters on until/if they brake! Only upgrade I would do is installing a Rockshox Bluto front suspension if you are going to ride the bike year round, which I do. Mine came set up with Internal Routering for a Dropper Post too. Not that I will but it's nice to have the option.

Cons: Jumbo Jim tires do not feel too grippy in loose gravely terrain but I'm adjusting tire pressure to compensate. Still a work in progress.

Recommendation: If you want a solid Fat Tire Bike without spending a lot of money, this is the bike. I did my research from other comparable bikes and Scott Fat Jon gave me the best bang for the buck.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No


Scott Big Jon 4.00 out of 5 based on 2 ratings. 2 user reviews.