Salsa Mukluk 3 Fat Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.75 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $1,850
Loading...
I Want One  
By Corey Maddocks    on Oct 22, 2014

17 SHARES | 8 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
21 bikes
 
on Feb 22, 2019
on Dec 17, 2018
on Jul 24, 2018
on Jun 26, 2018
on Jun 26, 2018
 
Top Rated Gear From Salsa
Salsa Lip Lock
Salsa Beargrease
Salsa Blackborow
Salsa Mamasita
Salsa Big Mama XT
Salsa Salsa blackborow 1
Salsa Salsa Bucksaw 2
Salsa Bucksaw
 


August 24, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: fun, light, components

Cons: price

Recommendation: Tthe one I road had front suspension, and oh baby Jesus was it fun! I have to admit I was a bit of a skeptic about fat tires, especially for when there is no snow on the ground. The Mukluk has changed my opinion, it was a lot of fun, it was surprising fast, and those tires just give a slight floating sensation. If you are going over smaller roots and rocks or to drop downs and jumping over rollers. It's like you are not touching the ground it's like you are skimming it.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




June 4, 2015
 
Pros: Great components, well built frame and paint, good geometry. Fair price if bought on sale or at a discount.

Cons: Pricey at retail cost. No complaint yet.

Recommendation: Mukluck (2015) - Small (15") True to its size. I am 5'-2" and find that it fits well. Awesome to ride. It's a perfect 2nd bike to my full suspension xc. I'm finding that tuning tire pressure is the key to really experiencing its full potential. I started with 15psi and have aired down to 8psi. Its great getting to adjust the air to your conditions. Its really a well versatile bike capable of so much while still being a pure and basic bike that can take a beating. Also there are many accessories available.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




September 3, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Solid, versatile frame. Good overall component spec. Great handling all a rounder.

Cons: Stock tires/tubes are heavy.

Recommendation: I bought this bike used recently to replace an old hardtail and try the whole fat bike thing. I love it more than I anticipated. It just works great everywhere. Fun, fun, fun. It brings one back to why you started mtn biking!

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




April 12, 2014
 
Pros: Nice big light weight frame. Mine is blue powder coated and I have beat the crap out of it but there are virtually no scratches.

Cons: Vertical dropouts make single speed life difficult. I don't have the alternating dropouts either this model is from 2012.

Recommendation: I love it. Just a big bad ass bike!

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No


Salsa Mukluk 3 4.75 out of 5 based on 4 ratings. 4 user reviews.