Rocky Mountain Slayer 50 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.50 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
14 bikes
 
on Jul 22, 2019
on Feb 8, 2018
on Oct 27, 2016
on Jul 2, 2016
on May 4, 2016
 
Top Rated Gear From Rocky Mountain
Rocky Mountain Instinct 999 MSL
Rocky Mountain Altitude 750
Rocky Mountain Thunderbolt 730
Rocky Mountain Altitude
Rocky Mountain Vertex 990 rsl 2013
Rocky Mountain Thunderbolt
Rocky Mountain 2016 Rocky Mountain Blizzard -50
Rocky Mountain Thunderbolt BC Edition
 


February 24, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2011 Rocky Mountain Slayer 50

Pros: After flipping the fork, adding a dropper post and getting real tires for New England this bike ROCKS. It climbs like a mountain goat, descends like a full DH bike and is SOLID in the air. Ive done every type of ride on this bike including long distance 40 mile rides, 3000ft elevation gain rides, DH rides, pumptrack/DJ sessions, and enduro circuits with the SAME set-up. This bike is truly a DO-ALL bike!

Cons: I immediately added a KS dropper post, Avid Code brakes, and Intense Edge tires. I blew the Taiwanese rear hub but RM was super cooperative and hooked me up with a Sram hub replacement. I also blew the bearings after the second season but RM sells bearing kits on their online store (took under a half hour to replace)....Im also due for a hardware kit soon. RM says they fixed the hardware design to prevent pre-mature wear on their 2012 models.

oh yeah. DROP that RockShox domain fork and replace it with something real (Fox36 is what I put on it). The domain is non-responsive and slops through its travel. Burms and drops are impossible to navigate and hold speed.

I also added an air volume spacer in the shock eliminate flipping to pro-pedal and preventing bottom outs.

Recommendation: The Slayer 50 as a bike build is acceptable to get wheels underneath you and have a good time in the woods. If your looking to put in some miles and push through some tough terrain, then I would recommend investing in a fork at a minimum. This bike is SUPER fun, just be ready for some small upgrading along the way. Im 6'1" and I have the 19" frame and it fits perfectly. Its well balanced, manuals all day long and stays comfortable 1hr, 3hrs, and 7hrs into a ride.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




December 2, 2011
 
ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No


Rocky Mountain Slayer 50 4.50 out of 5 based on 2 ratings. 2 user reviews.