Scott Scale 970 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.23 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: Medim -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
18 bikes
 
on Jul 18, 2019
on Jun 30, 2019
on Sep 28, 2018
  jacek1
on Oct 28, 2017
on Sep 9, 2017
 
Product Options (28)
Scott Scale 60
Scott Scale 70
Scott Scale 29er
Scott Scale 40
Scott Scale 29 Comp
Scott Scale 950
Scott Scale 735
Scott Scale 700 SL Bike
Scott Scale 700 Premium Bike
Scott Scale 700 RC Bike
Scott Scale 740 Bike
Scott Scale 750 Bike
Scott Scale 760 Bike
Scott Scale 770 Bike
Scott Scale 900 SL
Scott Scale 900 Premium
Scott Scale 900 RC
Scott Scale 910
Scott Scale 920
Scott Scale 930
Scott Scale 935
Scott Scale 940
Scott Scale 960
Scott Scale 710
Scott Scale 720
Scott Scale 730
Scott Scale 750
Scott Scale Contessa 730
 


November 6, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2016 Scale 970 29er

Pros: Price 29er Geometry

Cons: Fork Gearing

Recommendation: I bought this bike in June of 2016 and three months in, a whole host of upgrades have been done to it. I took off the SR Suntour XCR 32 fork and swapped in a RockShox Recon Silver fork, I added 800 mm bars (100 mm wider than stock), RaceFace 30T narrow-wide front chain ring (replacing a 3x setup), upgraded to a 11-40 Shimano Deore cassette (from a 11-36 cassette), replaced the Maxxis Ikon tires with Continental Mud King tubeless tires and now the bike is perfect. When you get it, the fork sucks, and the 3x setup was too big for me. I got this bike from my local bike shop which gave me a half off discount and I traded in a Giant Revel (a review on that will come later) but I really like this bike and it felt right to me. Overall you can't go wrong with this bike and it's a solid foundation for a second bike!





February 29, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Great grouping. Awesome ride.

Cons: Weight. It is on the heavier side. But for a novice its an awesome ride.





January 10, 2015
 
Pros: Affordable, good components, decent fork, semi-light weight

Cons: Shimano brakes need to be bled after first few rides

Recommendation: This was my first 29er but I've ridden a Scale 910 29er and a Spark full suspension 710 27.5 to compare against the 960. The components and the frame are the main reason I bought this bike. Sure there are slightly better bikes with XT hydraulic brakes VS Deore hydraulic brakes but are you really going to notice? The brakes are very good for XC and moderate downhill style riding. The RockShox XC 30 fork is a decent entry level air fork. It gives great feel and doesn't sag and bounce when climbing. You can lock it out when climbing if you remember but I don't think it's necessary. The only downside is the fork is heavy. The frame is the same on all Scales until you hit the carbon range, nice solid feel and no creaking. The Syncros wheelset is pretty good for stock. I've ridden them pretty hard and they are still as true as the day I bought the bike. Overall it's a fairly light bike given the fork is a little heavy under 28 pounds. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a 29er and doesn't want to spend over $1300.





August 1, 2014
Mer
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Great Frame, picked up for > $750 at REI. The platform can easily be upgraded to better components.

Cons: Fork is entry level and I've gone through at least 3 tubes on the rear tire. Pedals needed to be replaced after first 50 miles.

Recommendation: First 29er I've ridden and I'm happy with it. If you can find this bike for less than $800, I'd jump at it. It's been a good, solid addition to my garage.





June 29, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2009

Pros: Great for the begginer with a few dollars to spend. Light, quick and really easy to handle. Pretty decent components means it will handle most XC stuff like a dream on your local trails.

Cons: Forks would be the first thing i'd upgrade





January 13, 2014
 
Pros: Great bike for the price.

Cons: Limited seat adjustment

Recommendation: Buy it





December 12, 2013
 
Model/Year: Scale 40/2012

Pros: Great beginner bike, great looking frame.

Cons: Once you advance in your MTB journey, you'll want more than this ride, unless you invest heavy dollars to it.





November 10, 2013
 
Pros: By far best bike 1k could buy. It's lite-durable- and the components are top of the line. I say this because I own it.

Cons: Seat is a little rough on long rides.

Recommendation: Super bike





June 23, 2013
 
Pros: Great midrange components Shockingly good frame(noticeably better than anything in its class. Don't believe me? Ride one)! More than capable fork. Sexy Matte finish

Cons: Seems like the wheels are on the edge of failure given the amount of flex, although no issues yet. Tires came on backwards, which makes me question quality control.

Recommendation: Fantastic frame, great component set(XT rear derailer, all shimano everything else) Rock Shox XC29 feels great. Light weight. Pretty much the best you can get for $1400 retail( Scale 960).





August 29, 2012
 
Pros: Great handling bike. It inspires confidence! It fast and has good components. Will be upgrading the crank and forks soon. Just me I tinker. Already put an FSA cockpit and wheels on it.

Cons: None Yet

Recommendation: Great Bike!!!!



Scott Scale 970 4.23 out of 5 based on 13 ratings. 13 user reviews.