Maxxis Ikon Tire Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.60 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
By Jeff Barber    on Jan 23, 2014

0 SHARES | 10 COMMENTS
By Jeff Barber    on Feb 9, 2017

472 SHARES | 8 COMMENTS
By Jeff Barber    on Dec 4, 2017

1,041 SHARES | 8 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: Yes, I've been riding Maxxis Ikon tubeless for 6 years and haven't had any issues with the tire sealing. I use Stans and ZTR Flow rims on my hardtail. -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Product Options (1)
Maxxis Maxxis ikon
 


October 3, 2017
 




November 8, 2016
 
Pros: grippy, low rotational weight, good for all terrain

Recommendation: Great all purpose tire, I'm very happy with it





March 15, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2016 Ikon 2.20

Pros: Review based on using Ikon as a rear tire.
- solid performer that is a good compromise between rolling resistance and traction
- easy to set up tubeless

Cons: - are you ever happy with the price of a tire?
- gets a little loose in sloppier conditions

Recommendation: I'd recommend to someone looking for an all-weather tire that rolls well.





December 18, 2014
 
Model/Year: 29x2.35

Pros: Love the volume on this tire! Good compromise between fast rolling and excellent traction. Hooks up well in corners.

Cons: Sometimes gets packed in with a thin layer of mud (or dog crap!).

Recommendation: Great all around, everyday tire.





March 24, 2014
 
Model/Year: 29" 2.2 EXO/3c

Pros: Really good traction

Cons: Price

Recommendation: Took this tire out to Sedona and it performed well on its first run. Tire grips slick rock and loose rocks very well.





December 18, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2.2 EXO/3c

Pros: Fast roller. Good grip when new. Lightweight.

Cons: Wears too quickly. Conditions have to be just right.

Recommendation: I really love this tire. When the conditions match, this tire is in a league of it's own. It doesn't do well in loose conditions or if it gets wet. It's ideal for dry and dusty hardpack. I would love to run this tire year round, but it just can't keep traction in the damp. Works best when brand new.





December 13, 2013
 
Model/Year: 29"x2.2

Pros: Great Racing tire. does well on hard pack and slick rock.

Cons: Does not clear mud and snow well.

Recommendation: great tire for cross country races.





September 2, 2013
MTI
 
Model/Year: 26x2.2 2013 exc

Pros: Great traction
Great all around
Handle low tire pressure exceptionally well.

Cons: None

Recommendation: About the only thing that gives this tire any problems is it peanut butter mud but it's not designed for that. With that said it does shed the mud well. These things grip so well even in the wet i can't say enough great things about them. Been riding them for 3 months with no complaints.. I have them set up tubeless and ride 22 front and 24 rear. Gives incredible traction! I even rode them at 20 front/22 rear at Dupont on a real gnarly trail with no burping at all so they handle low pressure very well with my 174 pound body..
Update: These tires ride like a dream. After 700 miles or so I tore one sidewall and and about 200 miles after that the other tire sidewall started leaking out my stans. I went to the EXO version with stronger sidewalls adding a little weight and they provide the same great performance. See where it goes from here.





December 21, 2012
 
Pros: - Rolls fast
- Shreds debris well
- Do it all tire

Cons: - Price

Recommendation: A great tread design that excels in all conditions. Dry, wet, loose, hard... whatever your terrain is the Ikon is suited for it.

The Ikon, much like the other tires in its class, rolls very fast and has little rolling resistance. It finds areas to pick up speed. It also a corner killer and finds grip even on the sketchiest corners. It also, unlike its competition, sheds debris so if you're wanting to use it when its damp or muddy out no problem!

Everything points up about the Ikon but you will be paying a large some for this kind of performance.





December 21, 2012
 
Pros: Great tread design
Hooks up well

Cons: None

Recommendation: This tire is similar to the Geax AKA tire. It has a directional tread the can really grip the dry stuff. If you live where there are dry trails and fast open flats, this tire is for you.



Maxxis Ikon 4.60 out of 5 based on 10 ratings. 10 user reviews.