Maxxis Crossmark Tire Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.27 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
By Jeff Barber    on Feb 1, 2010

0 SHARES | 5 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 

-1

Q: My opinion is that the question "good on road or not?" may depend on the point of view. Some people (like me) use their MTB not only on dirt tracks ou downhill tracks, but rather ride most of the time on road. Eventually some crosscountry ride may come up along the weekend and for this we really want a reliable tire that won't make us fall in the first corner... For this case, I would say that no tire will work perfectly for both worlds. For this, what we need is a tire that partially attends both of them as better as possible, giving good enough rolling resistance on the road and good enough grip on the dirt and a bit technical downhills. In this case, I would say that this tire is one of the best choices for a lower budget, but keep in mind that extreme cases may not be handled by this tire like a pro. In other words: If you want to ride on the road, get some nice road tires. If you want to ride on the dirt, get some nice dirt tires. However, if you cannot afford of simply do not want two bikes (assuming that changing tires all the time is not an option), I would recommend Maxxis Crossmark... Hope my point of view aligns with yours... -Guest

A: Chances are you figured it out already, but here is my take. Rolling resistance on hardpack or road is actually quit good. As a rear tire it sucks if you are in wet or muddy conditions. The sloping tread forces you to spin out on wet or grassy climbs. It works best as a front tire.

dominguez.david.mtbr answered on October 2, 2017. Did you find this helpful? Yes | No

Answer

 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Product Options (3)
Maxxis Crossmark UST
Maxxis Crossmark
KHS 27.5x2.10 CrossMark 60TPI Folding
 


June 9, 2017
 
Pros: Fast rolling rear setup. Pair with Ardent up front.

Cons: None

Recommendation: Best setup





June 1, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Super fast rolling, predictable traction, durable, easy to set up tubeless

Cons: Packs up with mud. Not really for super loose or muddy conditions. Slips a bit on climbs if used as a rear tire as well. Not really a con... Just that it's better suited for fast rolling conditions

Recommendation: Highly recommend for XC especially on hardpack or some loose over hardpack conditions





March 15, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2016 CrossMark 2.2

Pros: - better roller than Maxxis Minions
- durable
- easy to setup tubeless
- good balance between rolling resistance and traction

Cons: - better options at comparable, or better, pricing

Recommendation: I'd steer folks to other options depending on their riding style and use.





January 8, 2015
 
Model/Year: Lust

Pros: - Light
- Hard bead/side wall
- last longs

Cons: - kicks a lot of mud up

Recommendation: I loved my Cross Mark tires and never had any issues with them





December 22, 2014
 
Model/Year: Crossmark TR 29x2.1

Pros: Fast
Lightweight
Durable
Corners well

Cons: Can get slippy on climbs

Recommendation: Great tire for hard packed. Really fast tire that still corners well. It can be a little temperamental on climbs if I'm not in the correct position as it will spin out a bit. But, it's a fairly fast tire and I guess that's the tradeoff for speed and low rolling resistance. Just to be clear, I'm running the TR version on front and back and love it. I wish they'd get different widths available. Not sure that I'd change what I've got, but it would be nice to be able to run the little bigger one in the front if I wanted. I run mine with Stan's sealant and have not had any issues.





December 22, 2013
 
Model/Year: 26x2.1

Pros: FAST
consistent cornering
pretty tough

Cons: slip a little on loose climbs
loose bead
pack with mud
don't play well with extremely dry, sandy trails

Recommendation: I set these up tubeless on my stock Giant wheelset after riding for a year on tubes. the fit was very loose, and hard to get set up, but they have worked alright. I love the tires for racing, as they roll fast and are predictable in corners. They do slip a little on hard cornering, but they always slip exactly the same. they very rarely actually slide out. Rocks don't seem to cause too many problems. if they make a 27,5 model, I might mount them on my next race bike.





December 18, 2013
 
Model/Year: 29x2.1 Folding

Pros: Thick tread. Good in all conditions. Lightweight

Cons: Bit slim in width.

Recommendation: I ran this as a front tire in the winter and it faired well. It was good at cutting through the mud without retaining anything. It gave me confidence cornering, but could be even better if offered in a width greater than 2.1.





October 13, 2013
 
Model/Year: 27.5 650B/2013

Pros: Wide at 2.1 and smaller diameter is good for 26" conversion.
Light, fast, good in a variety of conditions.

Cons: Okay in wet but throws mud up your back.
Load up mud and dog doo do like a politician.

Recommendation: Yes, I would recommend them





December 21, 2012
 
Pros: Quick
UST

Cons: Cornering
Side knobs wear fast

Recommendation: This tire is quick on the straights, but is lacking on the corners. Also, in loamy, loose trails, expect to wash out.





December 17, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Fast, low resistance. A good tire for its intended purpose -- XC on hardpack. Lives up somewhat to its claim that it "has enough spacing to grab wet roots and rocks."

Cons: It really rough or slipper conditions, you will want something beefier and grippier.

Recommendation: I got this tire stock on my last bike. I've never been a big fan of the lower profile tires, but gave these a try for a while. I was actually impressed with them, but eventually I replaced the front one with something with more grip. Eventually I replaced the rear before a trip to WV, and am glad I did. In the right conditions though, this seems like a great tire.



Maxxis Crossmark 4.27 out of 5 based on 16 ratings. 16 user reviews.