Motobecane Fantom Comp Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.67 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $1,295
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
17 bikes
 
on Sep 21, 2019
on Apr 9, 2019
on Feb 2, 2019
on Jul 25, 2018
on Apr 23, 2017
 
Top Rated Gear From Motobecane
Motobecane Sturgis Bullet
Motobecane Fantom Team
Motobecane Fly Team 29er
Motobecane NightTrain Bullet
Motobecane HAL 6 Team 12
Motobecane Motobecane Fantom 6by6 Pro DS
Motobecane Motobeacane NightTrain Bullet
Motobecane Fantom29 X9
 


February 11, 2018
 
Model/Year: Fantom Comp DS/2016

Pros: Rugged, good components, excellent value for the money. Ready to ride after some simple assembly. I didn't have to take to the LBS for tuning - it was perfect.

Cons: Original cheap Gravity hubs - the front one wore out after about 500 miles of heavy duty trail riding. May have had something to do with running into trees and such. ;-) Note to builders of Moto bikes - provide with quality "off-brand" 6-paw hubs & wheels from the factory and blow your competition away!

Recommendation: I love my Moto - I replaced the wheel set with a good set of wheels and hubs and rode it another 600 or so miles. I finally had to replace the crank set because I stripped it out bashing my pedals on rocks and roots hundreds of times. So I ungraded from the Deore XT 2x10 drive train to a new Deore XT 1x11 drive train. The Rockshox have been excellent - no rebuilds required so far, and the bike rides plush. Six months ago, I wanted to try a different "better" bike, so bought a Specialized Carbon Camber 29" ... I've ridden it 5-6 times trying to get used to it, but the Moto is BY FAR, the bike I prefer to ride. It is more plush, more nimble, faster (with better/lighter wheelset), shifts crisper (Deore XT vs. SRAM GX), and has a full inch of better ground clearance between the ground and the bottom of the crank (less rock/root smashing). Recommendation - buy a Moto and then spend your money on good upgrades as the components wear out.





April 5, 2017
B0B
 
Model/Year: Fanton 29er Comp / 2014

Pros: Light. Great spec for the price.

Recommendation: If you are tight on your budget or are just getting into mountain biking you can do no wrong with Motobecane. Great value for price and the frame is much better than you would expect. As a beginner I put a beating on this bike and it has not let me down yet. With a few basic upgrades this bike is much more capable than its price suggests.





August 14, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2016

Pros: This is for the Phantom Comp 29er. Bike is relatively light, very good value for the price. It was $1200 shipped to my door in Texas. Cheaper if you are not in TX or FL. All good parts, front and rear lockouts, tubeless tire rims and hyd disc brakes. Just a really good bike for the money.

Cons: Bike snobs don't like these because they are just as good as their bikes that cost $800 more. Find a local bike shop that doesn't care if you got it there or not.





July 1, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2006

Pros: Spirited climber, nimble, light

Cons: Nope.

Recommendation: The Fantom Comp is right at home in tight, twisty singletrack and can eat up some technical trails too. The Kinesis frame is very very light. A very nimble bike for the price.





May 11, 2011
 
Model/Year: 2011

Pros: Price...Price...Price...Very solid feel, somewhat light frame,great components as is. Handling is superb and controlled.

Cons: Motobecane controversy and bike snobs. V-brake bosses.

Recommendation: Perfect for entry to intermediate. Good base for some upgrades. Overall good value for price. Mount the right tires for your terrain. Tora U turn solo or Reba would make this bike even sweeter with hydraulic brakes but, then that would be the fantom comp. But, probably only noticible to experienced riders. Wheels have taken the abuse of a 230lb rider. BB5's are nice and better than the Tektro Aquilas IMO.





June 12, 2009
 
Pros: love it bought 2. the prices is crazy low.just review the components and you'll see the value here

Cons: pedals

Recommendation: i have the "trail" and the "comp" both came in 4 days and great shape





September 13, 2008
 
Pros: A great all around MTB with a solid frame.

Cons: None yet





June 1, 2008
 
Pros: Bike has been good so far. Solid components from the deore to the rock shock dart3 w/ lock out and avid disc brakes. Took it into a LBS to have it tuned up and checked and they said it was a solid bike.

Cons: Nothing as of yet,

Recommendation: Good bike for the money. Bought mine for under 600.





October 26, 2007
 
Pros: Affordable (paid 695), good components, pretty light, avid disc brakes

Cons: no lockout on Tora fork would have been nice, seat

Recommendation: Really enjoy riding this bike, its taken everything I have thrown at it, I like the Deore components and the Avid disc brakes, sadly I bent the seat on my first fall which was kind of sad and I would really enjoy a lockout for the long climbs. All together its a great start out cross country bike for less than $700.



Motobecane Fantom Comp 4.67 out of 5 based on 9 ratings. 9 user reviews.