Jamis Dakota Sport Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.75 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $1,000
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
19 bikes
 
on Sep 15, 2014
12 hours ago
  Guest
on Apr 23, 2019
  lene67
on Dec 1, 2018
on Sep 3, 2018
 
Product Options (2)
Jamis Dakota 29'er
Jamis Dakota D29 Pro
 


February 26, 2012
 
Pros: Average feel, frame stiffness, BB height





February 26, 2012
 
Pros: Just charge my credit card, loved it





July 22, 2009
 
Pros: For me at 6'3" and 250lbs, the 20" frame is a perfect fit, especially after adding a mid riser bar. These specs are a bit outdated, as mine has Reba Race shocks. Lots of fun to ride, especially if your LBS works with you to properly set it up and fit you the first time.

Cons: Mine came with WTB Dual Duty 29” Disc rims, 32H, with Shimano M495 CenterLock disc hubs. The hubs are a bit on the lower price scale and should have been Deore SLX at least. The WTB MotoRaptor tires are slow and get punctured easily. The Dual Duty rims are very strong, but hard to mount tires on and get the bead set right the first time without resorting to using dish soap and high pressure.

Recommendation: This is my first 29er and has been all fun and grins for me. First new bike I've had in 18 years and I feel like a kid again.

Except for the hubs, the bike has very nice components spec'd for the price. I've since outfitted mine with a hand built wheelset with 36 spoke Deore XT hubs on Salsa Semi Disc rims. I use the OEM wheels as dedicated street wheels with 700C slicks.





July 4, 2009
 
Pros: I have a brand new 2009 model.This bike is one sweet ride.It's light,and quick.The brakes are perfect.They stop you fast and don't lock up easy either.The gears are incredibly smooth.The tires are good too.They have a low rolling resistance for the road and still are good for dirt.Not too mention the hubs and crankshaft are invisible gems on this bike that round this bike out and make it one perfect bike.Love it.

Cons: The only thing I didn't like was the clip less pedals.Though I was able to trade them with the bike shop for excellent aggressive but safe pedals.

Recommendation: I highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for an excellent hardtail bike with awesome components.





June 7, 2009
 
Pros: I really like the spec out on this bike. I own a 2008 Model and got a great deal on it at JensonUSA for 699 including the bike build.
The Frame is light and stiff.

Cons: Getting used to clippless pedals was/ is difficult! It takes time but it is worth the effort.

Recommendation: This is a great entry level bike. I highly recommend to anybody looking for a good hardtail bike.



Jamis Dakota Sport 4.75 out of 5 based on 5 ratings. 5 user reviews.