Cannondale Trail SL 29 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.75 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $1,000
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: 19.5 size is large -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
23 bikes
 
  Guest
on Apr 23, 2019
on Oct 9, 2015
on Feb 10, 2015
on Jun 27, 2014
on Jun 15, 2014
 
Top Rated Gear From Cannondale
Cannondale F29 6
Cannondale Judge 1
Cannondale Scalpel 29er 3
Cannondale RZ 120-1
Cannondale Grind Sock
Cannondale Scalpel
Cannondale Rush 29 1
Cannondale Rush Carbon 2
 


June 19, 2014
 
Model/Year: Trail SL4 / 2013

Pros: Great frame, fantastic value, good stock wheels

Cons: Components are lower end.

Recommendation: Get a pro bike fitting and upgrade components over time... brakes first then rear cage derailleur. I wore both out in one season (20-25 trail rides or so). I went with Shimano XT Deore on both. Huge improvement in performance and durability. I also changed my wheels to Stan's No Tubes with Kenda Nevegal tires. Noticeable reduction in weight, increased turn responsiveness, roll, and cornering traction.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




August 17, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2011

Recommendation: Just switched the stock bars from 20mm rise to some Truvativ Hussfelt 40mm. Chopped down an inch on each side and so far....DAMN GOOD! was thinking of switching out the 90mm stem to a shorter one but given the new bars and limited selection of 1.5 stems....it's a good setup.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




April 25, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2012 Trail SL3

Pros: super comfortable ride, adjustable front shocks, shifting seems very smooth especially while climbing up hill.

Cons: Crankshaft, is wider and causes my foot to rub with wider shoes on, not a big deal though.

Recommendation: I must have tried out 10 different bikes always coming back to the Cannondale. the ride and shifting where so much smoother on this bike than any of the others I had tried. you really notice the smooth shifting while going up hill, and the adjustable forks are awesome!!

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




February 22, 2011
 
Model/Year: 2011

Pros: Adjustable front shock, overall weight, adequate component group, SPEED.

Cons: Bars are a little wide, grips come in white on the red model, Octalink crank-set is on the heavier side.

Recommendation: Bottom line (after 2 rides): this is a great bike. I've spent the last year researching my next ride and I've looked at everything from F/S 26 to Rigid 29ers and in quite a few different price points. For the money, you can't beat it. Climbs like no tomorrow, responsive shifts, surprisingly no brake howl, and so far I'm loving the adjustable RST Deuce...something I was originally unsure about. A little slower in the switchbacks but no worries, I make the time up on the climbs, banked turns, and straights...this thing really moves when you ask it to. If you're on a $1000 budget and looking for a solid 29er, this is it!





ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No


Cannondale Trail SL 29 4.75 out of 5 based on 4 ratings. 4 user reviews.