Specialized Camber Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.33 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $1,850
Loading...
By Jeff Barber    on Sep 14, 2011

0 SHARES | 14 COMMENTS
By Jeff Barber    on Aug 17, 2017

1,453 SHARES | 5 COMMENTS
By Jeff Barber    on Mar 7, 2017

0 SHARES | 5 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
75 bikes
 
3 weeks ago
on Sep 27, 2019
  hodgk9
on Mar 14, 2019
on Dec 18, 2018
on Oct 14, 2018
 
Product Options (10)
Specialized Camber 29
Specialized Camber Comp 29
Specialized Camber Expert Carbon 29
Specialized Camber Expert Carbon EVO 29
Specialized Camber Comp Carbon 29
Specialized Camber EVO 29
Specialized Camber Pro
Specialized Camber 650B
Specialized Camber Comp 650b
Specialized Camber Comp Carbon 650b
 


February 24, 2017
 
Model/Year: 2014 Camber FSR

Pros: Great all around bike. Love the brakes. I sit between a large and an x-large frame and went for the large. Happy with they way the Camber did on my last run of the AZT300.

Cons: Weak rims. Stuck with rear shock unless you want to pay for an after market yoke. The brakes take DOT brake fluid and should be changed/bled every 6 months.

Recommendation: Send your XFusion shock off to be returned for the style of riding and the weight you ride at. I upgraded the rear cassette to a lower gear. This helps me climb hills better, but would be a personal preference.





October 25, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2013 Camber comp

Pros: Lightweight Can be affordable if you wait for old models fantastic brakes suspension decent easy shifting

Cons: seat is painful (i guess they all are) weird clunking noise from front suspension since i've had it

Recommendation: Definitely would!





August 26, 2016
 
Pros: Great frame and Specialized FSR rear triangle. Wonderful hydraulic brakes and trickle down through frame cable routing.

Cons: Cheap suntour fork and x-fusion rear shock. The jumble of cable housings coming together under the BB. Wheels are a bit soft for my weight and where I ride. I need a beefier set of wheels to regain confidence.

Recommendation: I upgraded the Suntour fork for a Rockshox Reba Race air shock. Lovely shifting up and down the spectrum. Brakes are very stop worthy. For the price of the bike, a few up grades can make this bike ride like a bike 4 times its initial price. I love the way this bike handles around corners and the perfect flow even if I have to fill the rear shock everytime I ride.





March 18, 2016
CFM
 
Model/Year: 2014 Camber Comp 29

Pros: Reliable suspension
good braking

Cons: brakes vibrate loudly at times
rear hub won't last
I personally don't like the shifters

Recommendation: Not a bad bike all around for the price. Buy a good set of wheels to swap for the factory set. Change brake pads often to limit vibration.





July 7, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Great XC bike, fairly light and climbs like a goat. Great do it all bike. Mine is a 2013 that I bought new in 2014 and saved over $600 on it. The only upgrade so far is a Command dropper post which was money well spent.

Cons: I can't stand the Avid brakes or the Hi-Lo hubs. I'll upgrade the brakes in the near future. I have only put about 400 miles on the bike so far and have already had to take it in to have the rear hub tightened. I'll upgrade the hubs as soon as I wreck them.

Recommendation: Great bike for the price. I bought at this price point with a plan to upgrade as components wear out. 2 seasons and all is still in working order with a few trips to the LBS.





March 14, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2014 Specialized Camber 29

Pros: This is a great entry level bike. This is my first real mountain bike. I really enjoy the ride on this bike its smooth and responsive, gears shift very well, the full suspension makes a comfortable ride anywhere on the trail.

Cons: I know this bike doesn't come specd out like some of the higher level bikes hence the entry level tag, but this is a great value for the money, so for me I don't have any cons.

Recommendation: Yes, I would recommend this bike for anyone getting into riding a mountain bike. Its a solid choice and with a few upgrades over the life of the bike will make this an enjoyable ride for many years to come.





February 27, 2015
 
Model/Year: Specialized Camber Comp 29 2014

Pros: Easy Set up, good suspension, disc brakes, light, well balanced

Cons: none so far

Recommendation: This bike seems to be an all around great bike for many terrains. I haven't had it long enough to put tons of miles on but I have been able to put on 50-100 miles a week on this bike from local roads and trails to Moab and tested it pulling a Tandem bike to some fun local places. All around great bike for many uses.





January 2, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Great first bike. Decent price for a starter. Holds up well!

Cons: Weight. Components. Bars.

Recommendation: After a few upgrades, this is a GREAT bike for someone just getting into the MTB scene.





December 20, 2014
 
Pros: Great price, well spec'd bike! I have been riding the Camber for 2 years now and have really come to enjoy what this bike had to offer. Capable climber, fun on downhill sections, just a good all around trail bike.

Cons: Wheels are a bit weak and 3x9 drive train could be updated.

Recommendation: Awesome bike for the money





December 1, 2014
 
Pros: Fast, nimble geometry, affordable

Cons: Wheels might be too soft for hard riders :-)

Recommendation: I love this bike... bad fast at a fraction of the cost of it's pricier cousins. Solid components and quality build make this bike a joy to shred with. Terrific value for money, particularly as an entry into the MTB game.



Specialized Camber 4.33 out of 5 based on 18 ratings. 18 user reviews.