Santa Cruz Nomad Carbon Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
5.00 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $5,328
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
26 bikes
 
on Nov 30, 2012
  Guest
on Jul 25, 2019
on Jun 29, 2019
  Guest
on Apr 21, 2019
  Guest
on Jan 11, 2019
 
Top Rated Gear From Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Blur
Santa Cruz Nomad
Santa Cruz Superlight
Santa Cruz Bronson
Santa Cruz Heckler
Santa Cruz V10
Santa Cruz Bronson C
Santa Cruz Tallboy
 


October 5, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Very nimble. Handles whatever you throw at it. Made me a better rider. Gets me out of bad situations

Cons: None

Recommendation: I changed a few things. Enve wheels with DT Swiss 240s, Shimano Xtr brakes. 170 mm XTR cranks, Fox CTD rear shock. Shimano shadow derailer. Race face 1 x up front. Criss king bottom bracket and front cassette . Reverb dropper seat post.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




August 20, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Lightweight, plush suspension, Tracks well, jumps well, climbs well....You get the idea

Cons: None

Recommendation: Great bike. I was glad to purchase this bike. It can accommodate a dropper post if I desire and has the cable attachment points for it as well. Pick up the SPX model and you will be happy. Great parts and good value.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




August 18, 2012
 
ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




July 31, 2011
 
Pros: Everything. Flick a lever, turn a dial and say hello to Sybil - climbs better than my RM ETSX-70 (which changed my life and I love) and has more descending confidence and prowess than I'll ever tap. It's stiff and tight on the climbs; accurate and terrain gobbling on descents. (It's not a plush downhill rig, though you could do some freeriding with the right set up. I went with the RP-23 and TALAS, both of which help the versatility at the expense of a little plushness, but I live in the Rockies with long, punishing climbs to get those sweet descents and it's the purest marriage I can imagine.) To top it off, I've always liked the Nomad because it created a niche and it's lines make me weep. It's the sweetest machine I've ever sat on, and I can't wait for tomorrow.

Cons: Nothing. It's not cheap - and I hate cliches - but you get what you pay for. And from that perspective, it's a downright bargain, and a dam good value.

Recommendation: If you are looking for a bike that kicks ass in more arenas, that will take you to more greatness, this will fit the bill (plus, it's just plain sexy). I give huge props to the Mojo HD and Remedy 9 as well. Sometimes history and aesthetic make the final difference.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No


Santa Cruz Nomad Carbon 5.00 out of 5 based on 4 ratings. 4 user reviews.