Specialized Pitch 650b Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.36 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $560
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: how many gears -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
46 bikes
 
on Apr 22, 2017
on Jun 28, 2016
on Apr 26, 2015
on Sep 23, 2019
on Jan 3, 2019
 
Product Options (1)
Specialized Pitch Expert
 


September 23, 2019
 
Model/Year: Specialized Pitch 2019

Pros: -Very Strong -Looks very nice - Amazing for its price and quality

Cons: My shifter was broken when it got it

Recommendation: Tune your bike when you get it or pay to get it tuned it makes your bike feel alot better.





October 11, 2016
 
Pros: Heavy duty, shifters, fork, brakes, geometry

Cons: Pedals

Recommendation: Overall great bike, I'm 315 lbs with my gear on, have had the bike for 4 months and the thing is still in one piece. I ride pretty hard so if there were any problems with the bike they would have surfaced by now. There are a couple of things that are affected by my weight and riding, but for the average rider these issues would not exist. I personally love how this bike is light enough for me to thrash it around the trail but durable enough not to break. During my last ride a couple of days ago I did break the cassette and the chain but I think that was something getting jammed in the cassette right as I started an incline, because the shifts were smooth and instant before the failure of the part. The pedals were something I recommend replacing at the time of purchase. The handlebars and the seat post are pretty wide and long but if your local bike shop isn't trimming those up to suit you then you might be at the wrong shop.





September 1, 2016
 
Model/Year: Specialized Pitch Comp 650b/2015

Pros: Looks Great
No Major Maintenance Troubles
Rides fast and smooth
Great Price
Although cheap, the fork sure does its job

Cons: Cheap Pedals (swapped out right away)
Uncomfortable and odd grips (swapped these out as well)
Not much traction on tires

Recommendation: Good bike can be made great with a few upgrades. Put this bike through some pretty rough singletrack (trail with lots of full-suspension riders), and it takes bumps, jumps, and technical DH sections just fine. Would not recommend this bike for freestyle, park, or overly aggressive DH riding however! Very little maintenance problems in the year or so I've had it. For the money, I would say this is one of the best bikes out there, I do recommend.





March 25, 2016
 
Pros: Like the 27.5 way better than my old 29er. Handles great, light, factory tires provided great puncture resistance but needs more tread for where I ride. I'm 6ft and the large is a great fit and the saddle is comfortable.

Cons: Cheap pedals

Recommendation: I would happily buy the Pitch again





March 11, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2016 (I think)

Pros: Light weight, sturdy, good for a heavy guy example being myself. Decent tires. Good snappy brakes and shifters for the price.

Cons: Quick release front wheel with brake rotors. My rotors just make some noise whatever I do. Also, original pedals broke on the first off road use, but that's to be expected with the base pedals.

Recommendation: Great bike and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to upgrade from a department store bike.





February 22, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2014 Pitch Comp

Pros: excellent frame,
650b,
price,

Cons: peddles,
fork,
drivetrain,
seat stem way to long and needed to be cut

Recommendation: Excellent little ripper that encourages and provides confidence to experiment on the trail provided you immediately: 1. Throw those awful stock peddles in the trash. 2. Replace fork with RockShox 3.Replace drivetrain at the first sigh of wear.4. Have a professional trim the seat stem to your liking.





October 4, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Frame geometry is usefull for uphill as downhill
Hidraulic brakes
Light weight

Cons: Pedals are bullshit
Same happens with cranckset, i been using it for less than a month and the threads of the pedals are over, i had to buy a new shimano crankset.

Recommendation: Better buy a giant talon.





August 26, 2015
 
Pros: Affordable, bigge bang for your buck

Cons: Cheap pedal s

Recommendation: I bought one for my kid and it's a tough bike.





July 10, 2015
 
Model/Year: Pitch Sport 2015

Pros: Affordable for beginner to intermediate with upgrades.
Specialized (will probably keep value).
Good frame.

Cons: Pedals are cheap.
1-1/8 steerer instead of tapered (see review).
Tires depending on your terrain type.

Recommendation: First, because this is an "entry level" bike, be careful when reading reviews. I believe that some people that buy this level of bike might be "too heavy" for a the brakes/shock. At 180 geared up, I have no problem with the fork or the brakes. They work as well as I expect for their performance level on the terrain around me (Colorado Front Range, lots of rock gardens, lots of technical singletrack).

If you ride hard, then your first upgrade will probably be pedals. After about 6 rides mine started to fall apart.
Next you might consider tires. The ones on it are pretty bad in mud, and not great on rocks. I think they'd be best in gravel.
Your big upgrade might eventually be the front fork. I recommend riding it as hard as you can until you need a new one. It does its job fun but it's HEAVY. Consider the Suntour loyalty program (you can get some of their "higher end" forks for cheap with proof of purchase of the bike). You WILL need to pay attention to steer tube types. This bike has a zerostack 44mm steertube, so it can be adapted to tapered tubes with the appropriate parts from Nukeproof or Crane Creek (Nukeproof's website has a good manual that explains what you need). Otherwise it is a stock 1-1/8 straight steerer.

Bottom line: after upgrading the shock I believe this bike is competitive with $1000-$1500 hardtail offerings. Spring for the hydro-brakes, and maybe the 9 speed if you really want it, though I haven't found any need for faster or slower gears.





May 6, 2015
 
Pros: Great shifters Love the seat Shocks are awesome

Cons: Wish the seat could be lowered a bit more

Recommendation: Absolutely love it. First real bike I've owned.



Specialized Pitch 650b 4.36 out of 5 based on 12 ratings. 12 user reviews.