Giant Revel 1

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
4.75 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY   beta
MSRP: $500
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
12 bikes
 
3 weeks ago
on May 29, 2014
on Apr 20, 2014
on Nov 15, 2013
  koni13
on Oct 4, 2013
 
Top Rated Gear From Giant
Giant Trance
Giant Trance 3
Giant Contact Switch Remote Seatpost
Giant Lust 2
Giant Revel
Giant Reign 3
Giant Anthem X3
Giant Talon 29er
+ Add review
 
phxhardtail on March 31, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: Giant 29er Revel 1- 2013

Pros: Affordable entry level. I paid $499 which included lifetime tune-ups at Bicycle Depot of AZ. Included two levels better Shimano components and disc instead of V brakes with other comparable bikes. Solid construction takes a beating. Giant is biggest frame manufacturer and makes frames for many other companies. 29er is way to go for speed, stability, bunny hopping, and climbing (but not for precise technical riding)

Cons: Really hard saddle. Brakes squeal (prob need adjustment). Bike is burly 33 lbs.

Recommendation: Overall great bike for the money especially considering lifetime tune-up at $60-80 per visit. I've road mine on cruiser (Pemberton) and slightly more technical (Dynamite Rd. and Go John) trail in Scottsdale and would definitely recommend it for the $. Dumped it a few times and it held up better than my 50 year old frame.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
SB27rider on December 10, 2012
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Handles well, and takes everything I throw at it.

Cons: Brakes squeal, a little heavy, but you get what you pay for.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Queaze on July 5, 2012
1 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Affordable and well built for its price-range. I've been riding it for a few weeks now, tried some abusive off-road and I'm very happy with it. The saddle was a bit uncomfortable at first, but this seems to improve after about 200km. If well-adjusted gears and breaks are decent considering the price

Cons: What you'd expect at this price: brakes and gears may need adjusting every now and then, tires aren't the best

Recommendation: A great bike for every starter/amateur like myself

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
traviskenny on October 20, 2011
1 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Its stable sharp turner easy to maintain and able to optimize performance through great upgrades available to its frame

Cons: Cranks hubbs thats it

Recommendation: All around perfect for me new to downhill yet experieced in racing n trails

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mttandrsn on August 25, 2011
1 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great bike. The fork is pretty good for the price, and I haven't had any problems with the drivetrain. Mine cam with Kenda Small Block 8's which are perfect for the dirt singletrack we have in Nebraska.

Cons: Disc brakes are a little finicky, but you get what you pay for. It is also a bit on the heavy side, but I'm not a weight weenie so it doesn't bother me.

Recommendation: I would recommend this bike for anyone who wants a decent bike without breaking the bank. If you can afford it, go for the Revel 0, but I love my 1 as it is.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
fallenover on August 22, 2011
2 out of 3 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great bike. My boy and I both own one and ride them mostly on single track and road to get to the trails. This was the best bike we could afford and it has not let us down. Yeah, the tires are ok but no tire does everything.

Cons: Pedals suck, little mud and foot slips off. But, if you take one to the shin normally doesn't cut you.

Recommendation: Any one who wants an entry level bike on a budget, to see if they like it or a first mountain style bike,Buy it! Lots of mid range gears to help you with pedaling ability that alot of other bikes don't offer in this price range.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
manitic on May 10, 2011
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great bike at price range.

Cons: Disc brakes soft for larger riders.

Recommendation: At 6'5" 329lbs this bike has held up great for the 4 months Iíve had it. I ride bike paths and single track dirt and it performs flawless. I recommend this bike to anyone looking for an affordable entry level bike.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
fishboy4505 on October 28, 2010
2 out of 3 readers found this useful
 
Pros: great looks. disc brakes,

Cons: tires spin in sugar sand and seat could b a little more plush

Recommendation: i am 6'3" 235 lbs and i love this bike. great price and its well built. i ride a smaller frame than recomended (medium frame) and it holds up very well. the tires and seat are minor cons and easily fixed. i would recomend this bike over and over

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 
Giant Revel 1 4.75 out of 5 based on 8 ratings. 8 user reviews.