Giant Talon 29er Reviews

>

Giant Talon 29er

Avg Rating: (4.58 out of 5) 12 gear reviews
MSRP: $750.00
Tags:
21 members own this 7 members want this
 

 
Description
Engineered for better control and increased comfort on the trail. The all-new Talon 29er?s responsive ALUXX aluminum frame is designed with specific geometry to optimize its 29-inch wheels. The larger-diameter wheels roll over obstacles with greater ease, improve your traction and help you keep your momentum on the trail.



- SR XTC 29", 100mm suspension fork

- SRAM X.4 trigger shifting and rear derailleur

- Hayes mechanical disc brakes

- Giant S-XC2 29" alloy rim/Formula disc hubs wheelset

- Color: Black/Red
Read more...
 

Questions   [ask a question]

Note: You're not logged in. If you'd like to associate this post with your account, login now.
Ask a question
Notify me when anyone replies

Reviews

neversleepers on August 28, 2012
2 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: Talon 1 2012

Pros: -Color's pretty good (red and silver)
-stable when climbing hills and fast when descending
-I have an XTC(26) bike and feels almost exactly the same but much bigger
-feels like full susp bike in bumpy trails
-the stock elixir brakes are pretty reliable

Cons: -fork needs to be upgraded
-groupset could use a little upgrade as well if you have the budget; otherwise just wait for it to break before you upgrade

Recommendation: -I've upgraded the fork; I'm on a budget so I replaced it with an EPICON X1 - felt the huge difference after.
-upgraded to DT swiss hubs (my rear hub broke after a long weekend trip)
-upgraded handle bar (straight) to get a more XC feel
-upgraded the seatpost (thomson elite)
-upgraded the groupset to x9 2x10; best thing that I ever did...shifting is more reliable especially when climbing steep hills

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
s.seary on May 30, 2012
2 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012 Giant Talon 29er 2

Pros: Awesome entry-level 29er. Rolls over just about anything the New York trails throw at it. A lot of fun to ride (mostly XC, but sturdy frame can handle a little more serious riding). Very impressed with the mechanical brake-discs, and derailleurs, for the most part, work smoothly. Overall, this bike is a truck (in the best way possible), it rides through just about anything.

Cons: A little weighty, which can be difficult when riding steep uphills. Entry-level cassette and rear derailleur can cause chain skips if not properly maintained, watch out for that. Fork noticeably squeaks when put under consistent pressure.

Recommendation: Will be upgrading the fork, I am open to any suggestions. Upon buying this bike, have the LBS install new pedals, I use cannondale grind platforms, but any upgrade would be suffice. Also, if you're riding anywhere in the Northeast states, you should have the LBS install tires with a more aggressive tread (Kenda Nevegals or Specialized The Captain). Enjoy this bike as much as possible, it's worth every dollar and cent I payed for it. When the entry-level components start failing, simply replace them.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
GiantTalon12 on December 16, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Recommendation: First thing is to change the seat for long rides. Other than that it's a great bike until I get a full suspension.
Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
SillkySlim on March 7, 2012
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011 Giant Talon 29er 2

Pros: Overall Geometry is very similar to the XTC. Great platform to upgrade. The Hayes MX-4 disk brakes work great for mechanical disc brakes.

Cons: SR Suntour fork is better used as a boat anchor. Cassette wore out after one season. A bit heavy...mostly due to low end components. Seat post broke first year, same with the rails on my seat. Bottom bracket made it one season.

I've ridden this bike hard, from boulder riddled single track to dirt jumps, so cheap component failure is to expected.

Recommendation: This bike is excellent bike to start getting into the sport. When the cheap components start breaking down, upgrade to something better.



Here's a list of what I've upgraded so far.



Manitou Tower Pro fork<

crank brothers candy 2 pedals

Giant Connect SL seatpost

upgraded cassette

upgraded bottom bracket

WTB Pure V saddle

Stans Tubless setup

Odi / Troy Lee Designs Lock On Grips

Geax Saguaro TNT tires

Easton EA70 Monkeybar Handlebar

Thomson Stem.



This bike is a beast now. This summer I plan on upgraded to hydraulic brakes and a 3x9 setup.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
crankedcyclesli on July 20, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: Gaint talon 29er 0 2012 Pros: Giant has a series in each line up using numbers highest number being the lowest end model and lower numbers ending with 0 being the highest end model. The talon 0 is a huge jump from the 2. Hydro brakes rock shocks sram x5 drive train. Fantastic acceleration. Over all pretty light weight compared to other 29ers. But remember Giant makes trek bikes ;D Cons: Bland colors the 2012 black and blue doesn't pop on the trail and the stock Kenda small block 8s seam to be a waste of a tire for it. Should be stock with Racing ralph's Recommendation: I've slapped the new Easton haven carbon bars, single carbon spacer (by enve) and some Racing Ralph's on her and she's perfect
Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
ATGiles on November 6, 2011
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Everything

Cons: none

Recommendation: I love this bike. I actually have the giant talon 29er 2, 2012 model. It is really light and a good price. Can't say one bad thing about it.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
vanevanson on March 10, 2011
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Big wheels make it easy for rolling over big things, great frame, very good fit.

Cons: OEM Cassette wore out after only a few months. Since being replaced no problems. I guess I'm a fatty and wore out the cassette.

Recommendation: I have had this bike since June 2010 and I have probably put 500+ miles on it on trail. Very stable bike. Comfortable in the seat and rides over almost anything. I was new to Mtn biking in June and bought this bike for a first timer bike. It has exceeded my expectations. Sorry this is short, I gotta go ride it now after talking about it!!!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Jack_Brown on December 16, 2010
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Versatile and fast.

Cons: Nothing yet.

Recommendation: I love this bike. I'm a geezer who just started biking again after 20 years - new to MTBs (so treat comments accordingly). Went to a shop this summer, they tried to sell me a hybrid but I had to have this one once I rode it. Just seemed to ďfit.Ē This bike floats on pavement and simply flys on packed flat trails. I bike with some other experienced (also geezers) MTBerís and I have to hold back as their 26ers are just too slow (nice ego boost). Itís also fantastic in intermediate terrain (mostly ridden in the wooded/rolling hills around the Potomac River and creek beds Ė nothing too scary) where hybrids simply canít go. It rolls over roots, rocks, limbs, small downed trees. Itís the perfect bike for a weekend warrior, who likes to get a little muddy, but also likes/needs to cruise up and down the W&O or C&O to get there.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
treky92 on December 12, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Well built frame, price, brakes, geometry

Cons: nothing for this price

Recommendation: This is hard to beat for the price. There are usable components and a fork with lockout as well as a good suitable frame. Not much more to ask for in this level of bike. The geometry is also well designed.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Nelmenator on December 11, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Solid bike with no issues - Held up well despite 1500 miles of abuse over 2 years

Cons: Seat is weak, 8speed drive train is outdated.

Recommendation: Great entry level 29er

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Motohead53 on October 11, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: Giant Talon 2010

Pros: Lots

Cons: Little

Recommendation: Upgrade components.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
KEITH_BASS on January 24, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011 talon 2

Pros: For the price nothing but great things

Cons: replaced my stem,it was to high

Recommendation: I bought this bike to find out what the fuss over 29ers was all about,,This bike has me sold on 29ers for now on.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
miketike on November 9, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012 Giant Talon 0

Pros: Front fork upgrade from the talon 1 or 2. RockShox XC28 TK 100mm travel fork
SRAM 27 speed X5 shifters

Cons: My seat has given me a few problems but i think i resolved the issue

Recommendation: Spend the extra money and get the talon 0. Its worth it. I upgraded from a Rincon & it is night and day difference. Great Bike I would recommend

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mtbdennis on November 1, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Climbs and Descends like a champ.

Cons: A little heavy. SR Suntour fork leaves a little to be desired. At times I wish it had a better fork, or even a rigid one.

Recommendation: I have been riding this bike for about 2 months now after a LONG break from biking (20 years). Loving the 29 inch wheels. Overall I am completely satisified with this bike. I should mention that I have the Talon 29er 1 (the 1 has better components than the one listed here).

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 

Recommendations

Trek Fuel EX 8 (100%)
Geax AKA (100%)
Bontrager Premium Tube (100%)
Shimano XT Hollowtech II (100%)
Shimano SLX FD-M660 (100%)



Giant Talon 29er 4.58 out of 5 based on 12 ratings. 12 user reviews.