Kenda Nevegal

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
4.36 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY   beta
MSRP: $45
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Kenda Nevegal Videos (2)
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
90 owners
 
  joetutt Epic
  theUfan Epic
  dauw Singletrack
 
 
Product Options (3)
Kenda Nevegal John Tomac Signature Series
Kenda Kenda Nevegal 650b Folding Tire
Kenda Nevegal X Pro 29
+ Add review
 
Jeremy Saltzer on September 16, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Kenda Nevegal John Tomac Signature Series

Model/Year: 2013 Kenda Nevegal DTC John Tomac 26x2.1

Pros: Good grip
Wet traction

Cons: Heavy
Rolling resistance
Tread wears quickly on pavement
Needs 40psi

Recommendation: I would recommend this tire for all off road use. The tire grips well but needs 40 psi for good handling and pinch flat protection. If you would like a slower wearing tire, try the Kenda Kinetics.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Breckenridge29er on July 24, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Tough, High Volume

Cons: Heavy, SLOW/high rolling resistance

Recommendation: I purchased a bike that had these tires on it. They seem to be very robust and a decent option all around but very middle of the road. Coming from a road bike, I assumed that it was the nature of the 29er world. I swapped to a different tire and the handling/acceleration/speed was night and day. I admit I was a bit less concerned about the tires durability with these, but they will likely be kept only as a spare for trips in the car. There are much better options for any terrain.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
MTB Crackfox on February 22, 2014
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2013 DTC UST

Pros: Tubeless
Excellent Grip
Fast Roller

Recommendation: I bought these when I decided to go tubeless. They mounted easy and provide great grip on the trail whether it's dirt, mud, or sand. I didn't get them out in the snow or ice this year, so I can't give a good review on that. These tires come with a great price tag and performance to match.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Greg Heil on January 29, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Kenda Nevegal X Pro 29

Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Fast rolling, light weight, good traction

Cons: None?

Recommendation: This is a fantastic tire for trail duty! Stay tuned for my full review.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
oohoo on December 30, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Kenda Nevegal John Tomac Signature Series

Model/Year: 2012, 26, 2.1 DTC

Pros: GRIP!!! These things grab, on to everything roots, rocks, mud, dirt, all of it. Really gives you the confidence to go aggressive. Good price point.

Cons: High Rolling resistance, Heavy, no tubeless version that isn't UST (way too heavy). If you ride on sharper edges rocks often the out knobs tend to rip off the tire. This took time to occur but it is a known issue with nevegals.

Recommendation: Recommended for the aggressive rider who doesn't mind the additional weight and resistance. When I rode them the grip made up for the heavy/resistance. I wonder if the new Nevegal xpros will keep the strong grip while dropping the weight/resistance.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Seetheworldthroughme on December 23, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tyler2728 on December 16, 2013
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: Great soft tire for all terrain riding. Used in high desert terrain and absolutely loved this tire for a dry climate. Grips good on rocks, and hold up in nasty terrain.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jake1 on October 8, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Lots of grip durable

Cons: Not the lightest tires

Recommendation: I recommend these tires I ride near a lot of coquina and it will tear out the sides and these have held up.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Daniel Pugh on October 3, 2013
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2008

Pros: awesome grip, wide, looks chunky, soft wall so it grips

Cons: yeah the soft wall makes it weaker, and stop blabbering on about the rolling resistance :P

Recommendation: bottom line is, get your wallet out and buy this tire as its awesome

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jtorlando25 on December 21, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Kenda Nevegal John Tomac Signature Series

Model/Year: downhill version

Pros: -Moto inspired tread grabs onto anything you put under it
-Deep tread
-Heavy duty

Cons: -Heavy
-High rolling resistance

Recommendation: I've used the DH version of this tire on my SX and it is one beast of a tire. The tread is deep and it grabs onto everything. It leaves monster truck ruts if the ground is even remotely wet. Love it.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jtorlando25 on December 21, 2012
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: -Monster truck tread that offers a ton of traction

Cons: -Low rolling speed

Recommendation: If traction is what you're looking for, the Nevegal is for you.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
JacksPerson on December 13, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: Stick -E

Pros: - grips everything!
- instill confidence around corners and rough climbs
- I feel like I can climb ANYTHING with these tires on.
- shed mud and pine needles very well
- looks cool on a bike
- available in many varieties

Cons: - side walls are not the toughest and it sux tearing a $60 tire
- Price $60 a tire all day around my area

Recommendation: I ABSOLUTELY LOVE these tires. I wish I could get them for the price listed however. Around me these tires sell for $60 each all day. I have destroyed the side wall on many of these tires and still keep going back to them because they grip that dam good in the wet rocky rooty condition thruought New England. I try lot of differant tires because I get upset about having to by another nevegal due to sidewall gashes but I always end up right back to these.
These are not the most druable, inexpensive, or fastest rolling but I can climb any narly technical rock/root filled, log stepped climb out there when I have these tires on.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dozzerboy on December 11, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Grip

Cons: Weight

Recommendation: It gets more grip than a hookers heels in bed. But my riding partner and I have nicknamed it the Kenda Nevergo. It just weighs a ton... Also, the rolling resistance on these things is so massive, you can almost feel yourself slowing down in mid air...

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
fleetwood on December 11, 2012
2 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Grippy, beefy, chunky

Cons: heavy, rolling resistance

Recommendation: I was using a Motoraptor upfront with a Crossmark on the rear, but bought a Nevegal for the rear before going out to WV. Glad I did. It is a tough tire that can handle rocks, roots, mud, etc. Just bought another to replace the Motoraptor on the front when it's time. Great trail/all mountain tire.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dralbright on September 4, 2012
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2.1"

Pros: Low rolling resistance.

Cons: Not much grip on the 2.1.

Recommendation: Use the Nevegal 2.1 for path riding or commuting, but step up to something bigger if you're going to be using it on the trail. The 2.1 just doesn't have enough bite.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
zr140th on August 27, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Grippy, sticky, fast.

Cons: None

Recommendation: Best tire I have ridden so far. Takes everything Colorado can throw at it and keeps on churning. Great grip, little loss in speed from the Small Block version, strong sidewalls and decent tread life. LOVE THIS TIRE!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dirtjunkee on May 5, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Good grip, looks beefy.

Cons: none

Recommendation: Great tire for pretty much any terrain, didn't notice it being particularly heavy or slow rolling. highly recommend.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dirtjunkee on May 5, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Good grip, looks beefy.

Cons: none

Recommendation: Great tire for pretty much any terrain, didn't notice it being particularly heay or slow rolling. highly recommend.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
engrmariano on April 9, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: lots of grip on trails. specially coming from maxxis crossmark...

Cons: high rolling resistance on pavements. what else do you expect???

Recommendation: it really bites the trail...
slow on pavement...
a 1/3 cheaper than nobby nic...

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
ktmracer805 on March 26, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Awsome tire for climbing anything, it sticks like velcro. Handle great in corners.

Cons: Rolls like velcro!

Recommendation: Great tire other than roll speed.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jeff44 on February 21, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great traction

Cons: Abit heavy

Recommendation: So far have only used these in mud and snow and ice and the nevagals have done the job have to wait a few months for a hardpack review

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
cmbishop63@yahoo.com on February 9, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great traction

Cons: heavy, slow roller, not good for tubeless setups

Recommendation: best tire ever for traction

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
oneeyeredeye on November 21, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: great traction

Cons: heavy and big time rolling resistance

Recommendation: good up front tire

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
GimmeAraise on September 14, 2011
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: quick response, great traction, perfect up-front, durable.

Cons: rolls slow over rocks, but that the sacrifice for traction!

Recommendation: one of the best made tires on the market. both for trail and downhill. I use the Nevegal up front and the Small Block 8 in the rear. Perfect combo!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
spazjensen on May 23, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: awesome traction while keeping it straight or while turning. really digs in when the dirt is loose or rocky. does decently well on hard smooth surfaces as well.

Cons: NONE!

Recommendation: awesome tire for the rider who is looking for truely good all around tire. works great for "aggresive XC", all mountain, and even downhill. might be a bit on the extreme side for regular XC (just my opinion)

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tcarbone on May 11, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I mostly agree with the other reviewers. This is a great all around go to tire. A tire to run if you do not know the terrain you will be running. Plus it looks great with all those big knobs. Feels safe and predictable in a lot of varied terrain

Cons: What else heavy!

Recommendation: This is the perfect tire to run when you really do not know what tire to use. It is pretty good in any condition. I like to run it on the back in the 2.3 size.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
leedaddy on May 11, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: stic e/dtc

Pros: im running a stic e and a dtc,and i like them so much have had them nearly 2months and still have a decent amount of tread left even after riding cannonball on the weekends and the local trails on the week days.excellent grip

Cons: didnt grip to well on wet woodwork/rocks or when the mountain started to frost over in the afternoons

Recommendation: great tyres

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tarvisg on April 14, 2011
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great grip for loose dirt.

Cons: Hard to go tubeless. Bead is ribbed not smooth.

Recommendation: Great tire, second pair didn't last as expected. Rear tire side knobs started to rip off. They couldn't stand up to what I was throwing at them.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
muttonmark on April 13, 2011
2 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Grip, does not clog with mud

Cons: If you don't have the correct PSI-Pinch flat city. Poor rolling resistance.

Recommendation: I put these on for spring season sloppy riding in Michingan. First thing I noticed was the rolling resistance. Slow tire. In fact I switched back to my cheap IRC's and could not believe the difference in rolling resistance. The grip was good, but after clearing the same log jam, then clearing a "babys head" rock garden and then hitting an off-camber turn/climb, I got pinch flats two rides in a row. I had read about this possibility on a couple of occasions. So I am going to a WTB in Rear and Maxxis up front combo. Maybe I will go back to these in the fall.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
TheWVPedaler on March 15, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Never short of traction

Cons: Slow rolling, heavy

Recommendation: These tires have done me well for the past couple of seasons, they are wore down now and will be retired soon.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
John Fisch on February 15, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Good all around XC/AM tire.

Cons: Short life.

Recommendation: I love it in the 2.35 tubless as the rear on my 575. It handles a wide variety of conditions with confidence. Great traction for technical climbs. It just wears out too fast, especially if you have ot put it on the pavement.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
theUfan on February 14, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Grips well and not a bad roller considering...

Cons: heavy

Recommendation: A good all around tire that will get you thru most situations. You wont set any speed records with them though

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jbelmont on December 9, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great grip, in all conditions.
Very confident cornerer with tall sideknobs.

Cons: Slow rolling and heavy for an XC tire.

Recommendation: Great all purpose tire for all seasons. Just switch out when you're looking for speed or light weight.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Ben_Jones on December 9, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Not bad for winter riding.

Cons: Rolling resistance is palpable while cranking down the trail. You can literally feel every knob hitting the dirt on most trails. In the winter they are not a horrible option... although at that point look to the Excavators... all the traction without the price or needless hype.

Recommendation: Buy Maxxis High Rollers or Specialized Eskars and you'll be happier. Maybe pick up a set for winter rides.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mfattah on December 5, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: great grip on all types of terrain even for urban riding, wears well

Cons: nothing

Recommendation: good choice & recommendation
fair price 45$

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dubinjs on December 1, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: great traction on HP or in the mud. corners great. UST set up fast and side walls are thick

Cons: a little heavy

Recommendation: great tires, especially on the back. had one on the back combined with a WTB on the front and has performed great. Recently changed the front to the Nevagal also for the winter months. have had nothing but good rides on them so far.Top in its class for sure

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Johneblz on November 30, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Big and sturdy. Provided great balance and grips everything.

Cons: Heavy. Seems to slow me down due to the knobs and thickness.

Recommendation: Excellent tire but may not be for straight XC. I ride a Giant AC which is built more for Free ride in my opinion. So this is on the back ( 2.5 Stick E 5 ) but I am considering changing.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
konacoiler on November 30, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great traction in all conditions. Variety of sizes and options

Cons: Not quite as good for downhilling as Maxxis Minion

Recommendation: buy it!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on November 30, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Even riding in the fall, with heavy leaf cover, I have not had any problems with the tire slipping. I use a little less air-pressure in the front.

Cons: They grip dog poop.

Recommendation: If you can handle the handle bars they can hang the dirt, and , leaves.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
andrewasdf on April 6, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: conners like a god i never slow down in the conners sence i bought these tires, good climbing.

Cons: a little heavy

Recommendation: i like them for there connering abilitys they just take me away to another place. a little heavy but worth there weight in gold.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
8valvegrowl on February 18, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Grippy, durable, sheds mud and works well in most conditions.

Cons: Slow, heavy (Stick-E compound)

Recommendation: I run the 2.5 Stick-E up front and 2.35 Stick-E in the rear of my Dawg. Great grip, but pretty slow. Easy to lose your momentum on flats and climbs. Would be a good choice for Super-D.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
joetutt on January 30, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Excellent Traction, Durable!

Cons: Expensive

Recommendation: Great all-around tire. Sheds mud well, handles turns incredibly and holds up well to abuse. I would highly recommend these to anyone.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
John Fisch on January 7, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Super all-around tire
Competent if not the best in all conditions
Good combination of low rolling resistance and high traction


Cons: Wear out too fast--gets expensive
Not the best for mud

Recommendation: This is a superb all around tire if you ride in a wide variety of conditions and aren't concerned with going through a set too fast.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
lamunyan on November 5, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great grip of the trail in most all conditins.

Cons: none

Recommendation: Great tire for anyone

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
sspragu3 on September 15, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Roll super fast and smooth.

Cons: Not very versatile.

Recommendation: If it's dry all the time, get them. Any wet surface kills their performance.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
singletrakkiller on August 16, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: nice traction

Cons: wear out pretty easy

Recommendation: great highly recommended

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
redleg_64 on May 31, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I love the way the tires grip the trails around here. They have more confidence on slippery stuff than I do.

Cons: They wear pretty fast on pavement. Yeah, I know, what am I doing on pavement, right? I use my bike to ride to and from work and I don't feel like changing a tire out all the time, but I'll have soon anyway. It's great off road, but it sucks on road.

Recommendation: Buy it unless you want to ride on the pavement a lot.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
GoldenGoose on May 24, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Available in almost every size you could want. Different tread compounds offered (DTC and Stick E) make a difference in how for the tire wears. Feel wider than advertised. Folding casing version is relatively light for the amount of grip.

Cons: Expensive unless you can find them on sale. Rolling resistance.

Recommendation: Sweet tires with a great tread offered in MANY different versions to fit your needs and riding style. A little bit over hyped by recent mag articles but they do perform well enough to warrant the attention. Rolling resistance is harch on harpack but the extra grip is great on any surfaces with a little "squish" to them.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on February 9, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: These tires are awesome! They grip well on varying terrain. They hold very good in the turns, especially at high speeds. AAA++ in my book. DH/FR/AM and aggressive XC rider.

Cons: I have the 2.50 Stick-E Wire DH casing, and they are heavy. A little sketchy in muddy terrain, even though I try real hard to stay out of the mud.

Recommendation: Exceptional DH/FR/AM tires, but also make great XC tires if you get the 2.1 or 2.2's.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Suvacrew on January 5, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Awesome on loose to hard pack. Massive volume to take up the hits that subdue your suspension.

Cons: Absolutely horrid in mud, mud sticks to them like icing on a cake. Zip for shedding capability.

Recommendation: I swap them out in Winter...they are useless when the soils become muddy and cakey, they gain weight like a Sumo Wrestler as it just sticks to the point that your wheels stop for lack of mud clearance. Riding Panaracer Rampages in the muck, much better.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
JAMIS-JUNKIE on December 21, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Excellent grip in turns on those loose pack and sandy fireroads.

Cons: NONE

Recommendation: I will never buy another tire other than these babies!!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mudhunny on December 1, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Look and feel wider than a 2.1 so you get good grip when taking turns; long wearing tire

Cons: None

Recommendation: I agree with dauw, you can ride confidently with these tires as they handle turns and corners well.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
DragonRail on November 2, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great tire with super grip on every track that I have been on. Works well in the mud.

Cons: none

Recommendation: Awesome tire. I recommend these for anyone

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dauw on July 11, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great grip in all conditions. Sheds mud well. Roll well too.

Cons: Price. The Stick-e version wears too fast, but so do all soft compound tires.

Recommendation: Go get some and instantly add confidence to your ride.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
bstill30 on July 11, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Fast tire with outstanding grip in just about every condition possible.

Cons: None.

Recommendation: Don't wait as long as I did to add these to your ride. Instant change noticed in level of grip and speed which resulted in instant confidence.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
aabiking on October 7, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Fast tire. Good grip on almost all surfaces.

Cons: Price

Recommendation: I would recomend this tire for anyone riding different terrains.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tumbleweed14 on July 20, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Cons: Not extremely durable. Decent, but not awesome grip. Expensive.

Recommendation: Great tire, but go through these fairly quickly with aggressive riding. Very fast and very fun.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on February 11, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: KENDA NEVEGAL 29X2.2 Pros: GRIP AGRESIVE GRIP SECURE
YOU CAN BE AGRESIVE ON THE TRACK TAKE TURNS STRONG ITS AMAZING HOW THIS TIRE GRIPS IN ROCKY TERRAIN I LOVE THIS TIRE Cons: NOT FOR PROFESIONAL RACING Recommendation: IF YOU WANT TO BE SAFE AND MAKE TIGHT CORNERS THIS TIRE IS FOR YOU. IF YOU WANT TO BEAT NINO SCHURTER FORGET IT!
Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Kenda Nevegal 4.36 out of 5 based on 57 ratings. 57 user reviews.