Trek 6500

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
4.44 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY   beta
MSRP: $930
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Trek 6500 Videos (1)
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
10 bikes
 
on Aug 2, 2014
on Jun 30, 2014
on Jun 30, 2014
on Jan 18, 2014
  gumbi
on Dec 4, 2013
 
Top Rated Gear From Trek
Trek Fuel EX 9.8 29
Trek 4500
Trek Superfly
Trek Paragon
Trek Rumblefish
Trek Remedy 9 29
Trek Stache 8
Trek Scratch Air 8
+ Add review
 
gholt on December 12, 2013
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 6500 Disc 2009

Pros: Ligh weight. great Dart Shock. Good overall comp for lower end bike.

Cons: SL brakes are a bit spongy. Not as good as full suspension.

Recommendation: Good bike for beginner MTB rider. Great to learn the ropes.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
gholt on December 12, 2013
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 6500 Disc 2009

Pros: Ligh weight. great Dart Shock. Good overall comp for lower end bike.

Cons: SL brakes are a bit spongy. Not as good as full suspension.

Recommendation: Good bike for beginner MTB rider. Great to learn the ropes.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
gholt on December 12, 2013
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 6500 Disc 2009

Pros: Ligh weight. great Dart Shock. Good overall comp for lower end bike.

Cons: SL brakes are a bit spongy. Not as good as full suspension.

Recommendation: Good bike for beginner MTB rider. Great to learn the ropes.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
gholt on December 12, 2013
1 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 6500 Disc 2009

Pros: Ligh weight. great Dart Shock. Good overall comp for lower end bike.

Cons: SL brakes are a bit spongy. Not as good as full suspension.

Recommendation: Good bike for beginner MTB rider. Great to learn the ropes.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Harry_Swisher on August 21, 2012
1 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 07

Pros: I have owned my 6500 for 3 years now. I put it through hella abuse and it takes basically everything I throw at it. My friends all ride 3 and $4k bikes and their bikes stay in the shop for repairs all the time. I think it kills them that I stay on their tails for 15 and 20 miles at a time and I paid a fraction for my bike.

Cons: For the money you spend on this bike. In my own opinion, there is no cons.

Recommendation: If you are new to mtbing and can afford it, then this bike is for you. One day I will eventuall upgrade to a FS, but until then, I can keep up with almost anyone on this beast.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Tripp on April 29, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Lite weight easy handles great shifting is awesome

Cons: None

Recommendation: Buy it when I can

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
saminguz on December 16, 2010
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Light feel and tight cockpit. This hardtail feels very responsive and is equiped with some good level shimano gear.

Cons: Nothing

Recommendation: As hardtails go at this price point the 6500 is hard to beat. A great all round bike that you can use exclusively on the trails or commute on.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
eborre on August 11, 2010
0 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Pros: love the manitou suspension,great styling,everything is easy to adjust on the fly,extremely lightweight.

Cons: coulda used a straight handlebar

Recommendation: works great for hittin the trails or just a fun ride to the grociery store. good overall midrange bike

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jpoates13 on December 12, 2008
2 out of 3 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I love love love this bike. Very sturdy, very fast very light. One of the best features is the Manitou suspension, it has great range while your hitting the big stuff but it also has a lock out/compression lever at the top so you can either adjust how much support you need or just cruise the trail or neighborhood completly suspension free. AWESOME!

Recommendation: This bike works for the basic rider or the more hardcore that like to get out there and ride some serious dirt.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 
Trek 6500 4.44 out of 5 based on 9 ratings. 9 user reviews.