Specialized Rockhopper

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
4.46 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY   beta
MSRP: $520
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Specialized Rockhopper Videos (2)
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
50 bikes
 
2 days ago
  BEJ
2 days ago
1 week ago
1 week ago
1 week ago
 
Product Options (10)
Specialized Rockhopper Pro Disc
Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc
Specialized Rockhopper Disc
Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc
Specialized Rockhopper
Specialized Rockhopper Expert Disc 29er
Specialized Rockhopper Comp 29
Specialized Rockhopper Pro EVO 29
Specialized Rockhopper 29
Specialized Rockhopper Pro 29
+ Add review
 
Will Altena on September 9, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp 29

Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Lightweight
Great frame
Brakes Last

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
theschwag on June 27, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper 29

Model/Year: 2014

Pros: The bike rides well, the geometry feels great for my 6 foot frame. Handles all kinds of terrain without issue. Hydraulic brakes are awesome!

Cons: Doesn't need 27 speeds. They could have built this bike as a 2x9 and I'd be fine with it.

Recommendation: I highly recommend this bike to anyone who is looking to start mountain biking on the regular. It is well worth the money

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mb8919 on June 16, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011 Specialized Rockhopper

Pros: Affordable, durable, and capable. This bike has seen it all from cross country to downhill, and is still going strong. The components are the perfect blend and have performed flawlessly.

Cons: Cheap fork, wrecked it in its first season.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jroliveri on June 11, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp 29

Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Great bike for the price.
Beginner/Intermediate

Cons: Cheap Parts

Recommendation: The 2012 Specialized Rockhopper Comp 29er is a great beginner to intermediate level mountain bike. The M4 alloy frame on the 2012 edition is an awesome hardtail frame. The components are cheap out the box but if you replace them over time you will get solid performance out of this bike. Over the last two years I've replaced 60% of stock parts and this is my go to bike for the trails here in New England.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
CyberBomb on May 29, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Model/Year: 2000

Pros: Great geometry

Cons: old
not compatible to new upgrades

Recommendation: A great begginer cross country bike...

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tyler2728 on December 13, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Expert Disc 29er

Model/Year: 2009

Pros: Good entry level bike, components are pretty good for the price.

Cons: Needs different fork, and stem set up

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
theBearJew on December 12, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp 29

Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Great bike, Feel very comfortable on trails with it.

Recommendation: I live in FL where there aren't the most technical trails and this is a great bike for me.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
DADDYindaNATI on November 17, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp 29

Model/Year: 2013

Pros: This bike comes already equipped to go out and handle any trail you feel like tackling. With beefy tires and great shocks everything you come in contact with is easily absorbed. Durable parts and build allow this bike to take some major abuse and continue to perform above expectation.

Cons: Stock pedals are small and not very good.

Recommendation: I would recommend this bike to anyone. It easily rolls over anything you put in it's path, has great shocks, and can handle steep inclines as long as you stay in the saddle.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
discovery10 on September 30, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp 29

Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Rolls over rocks ,roots and logs beautifully..great for climbing hills and coming out of turns ,light and sturdy nice lockout shock.. Been ridding a 26 for years ,Now beating up my buddies with 26ers on my 29er

Cons: 29ers are a little tougher to handle on technical trails and going into turns until you adapt to it.

Recommendation: Give it time,overall great ride..

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
discovery10 on September 30, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2013
Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
Tstrahan87 on August 27, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011 Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: Great bike for trail riding, handles great, the brakes are wonderful. Very strong frame and definitely a great beginner bike and one to keep for awhile!

Cons: Needs upgrades to the pedals for sure, also the lockout turn knob keeps falling off, all you do is pop it back on, but I believe its a bad design for the beatings these bikes will take.

Recommendation: upgrades to the pedals for sure! And figuring out a way to keep from losing the lockout knob.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Tstrahan87 on August 21, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Model/Year: Rockhopper Comp/2011

Pros: Sturdy Frame! Feels incredibly solid on the trails. All the components operate smoothly and are very quiet. The brakes stop you instantly!

Cons: The tires need to be upgraded for sure, had a flat from a thorn first time out on the trails.

Recommendation: This is a great bike for beginners to get to make that next move into getting serious for riding trails on a regular basis.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
colpotatos on May 25, 2012
3 out of 5 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2010 Expert SL

Pros: Fast bike. Smooth shifter. Very fun. Good value.

Cons: Tires need to be replaced. The stock tires lose traction easily (the rear spins out and the front will slide out from under you). Rims aren't very sturdy either and bend out of dish and true easy (I weigh 190). I think there is some sort of weight restriction for this bike (I recall reading it in the owner manual). I think if I weighed 175-ish and less, this would be an incredible bike. Weigh over 200 and it would simply be dangerous. I saw one user describe it as "twitchy," and I thought that was a good description. I've had my worst wrecks in the year I've had this as opposed to the previous 10 years on it's older predecessor, but it's also a lot faster. Breaks can be noisy, but once they settle in it's not so bad.

Recommendation: Good bike for the money. Lose weight and replace the tires. REPLACE THE TIRES!!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
saPPer1 on March 29, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp 29

Pros: Light, Sturdy

Cons: Horrible steering

Recommendation: Awsome bike if you're riding an easy to intermediate single track but not very good for very technical trails.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
ctrice on August 17, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Expert Disc 29er

Pros: Pretty light considering the price. Rolls over everything. Fast

Cons: Wish it had an air fork and I plan on cutting about 1/2" off each side of handlebars. A little wide for my liking.

Recommendation: 2011 Model. Bike is smooth shifting, feels great, climbs like a beast. I went 29r and will never go back. I cant even get on my 26" anymore.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
CatLikeFelix on August 6, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: customised 2006 Disc

Pros: Sweet, well balanced ride. Handles all I through at it. Nice, fast & responsive. Great at climbing. Good at technical single track and holds it's own on some steep, fast descents too (with upgraded fork)

Cons: the back can be a bit twitchy at times

Recommendation: Have upgraded forks, wheels, tyres, pedals, stem, bar & seat. I can see this bike lasting me forever now. But I have got my eye on the 2010 29er Stumpy Comp too. Maybe next year...

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
brettbonc on July 16, 2011
2 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2000 Specialized Rockhopper

Pros: Great, cushy front suspension


Not very weighty


Handles turns very well

Cons: Shifting is not that quick (notice old year/model of bike)


Brakes have begun to squeak.

Recommendation: I got this bike used 3 years ago and have been riding it since. For it being such an old bike, it holds up very well. Like mentioned before, front suspension is cushy and still takes downhills smoothly. You can let go on rocky or rooty downhills and still maintain control.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
UneasyRider on June 3, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: Rockhopper Comp Disc 2010

Pros: Smooth ride
Great front suspension
Smooth shifting
Brakes grip well
Handles hard turns like a dream

Cons: Front brake has started to squeak a bit


Recommendation: I've been riding this bike for about a month now and it has significantly increased not only my riding abilities but also my confidence. No longer do I opt for the easier marked trails but attack the more/most difficult trails in a park.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
PHRANQUY on December 17, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Pro Disc

Pros: Light, decent component spec, overall good entry level race ready bike.

Cons: None.

Recommendation: I had a 2008 tha I purchased new in 09, raced on it for 2 years and couldn't be happier. My goals for racing in the next few years exceded what I believe the bike is capable of though, so it's time to upgrade.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
saminguz on December 13, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Comfy cockpit feel.
Feels intuitive as soon as you sit on it.
Top end models come with great spec.

Cons: To get the good spec you pay top dollar!

Recommendation: A great package bike. A fantastic middle ground hardtail that is reasonably light (circa 27lbs) with equipment that will see you over most obstacles with ease. Buy the cheaper version for the frame and upgrade the parts in your own time.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mfattah on December 3, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: comfortable to ride,felt fast with a few peddles

Cons: didnt like all the speeds, had problems shifting, heavy feel

Recommendation: grat 1st bike for riding around town urban type stuff

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
stevethousand on December 1, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Good value


Cons: Upright ride with stock handlebars and stem
Heavy (33-34 lbs)

Recommendation: This is a great bike to start your trail riding. In the five years I've owned it, I've only broken a derailleur hanger, seat rails, rear brake, and changed the chain. Definitely not a bike for racing, but it's been fun for me.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
maddslacker on November 30, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Reasonable price.
Excellent build quality.
Comfortable geometry.
Tracks well.

Cons: Can be clumsy through switchbacks. It likes to go straight.
Some of the OEM components are pretty cheap. Upgrade as needed.

Recommendation: I bought my 2003 used in 2004 and have ridden literally thousands of miles on it since, first for off-road and now as a work commuter.

I have replaced the chain/cassette, cables, brake shoes, tires, fork and one wheel. (due to a crash) The rest is original and still working great.

If you're on a budget and want to get a solid mountain bike for not a lot of money, this is one to check out.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on June 7, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: solid frame.
pretty good components
lightweight for a beginner bike

Cons: none that i can tell.

Recommendation: i bought the 2010 rockhopper expert, and everything performs pretty well for me. Im 235pounds, probably around 250 geared up, and i ride somewhat aggressively and everything on the rockhopper is holding up great so far

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Slow on April 2, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Expert Disc 29er

Pros: The bike is light, well equiped for the price and holds up great to the terrain in this area.

Cons: I'm not a big fan of the Dart shock. I got what I paid for.

Recommendation: This was my first serious off road bike. Great entry level ride to improve the skills. Well worth the money and the customer service is excellent.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on March 17, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Comfortable

Cons: Rear disc had to be replaced after only a few weeks. A lot of spokes have broken, again in the rear wheel.The hub in the rear wheel has just been replaced and the pedals are naff - one has almost fallen apart.

Recommendation: Would recommend staying away from this model (09)Pro SL

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on March 10, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: Solid Frame, Relatively light, Easy to control in technical spots.

Cons: Needs some upgrades, wheels#1, pedals#2, and Sadle#3

Recommendation: I have had this bike for about 3 1/2 years, and it has been a good purchase. My only issue is that I have had to replace the wheels with a pair of downhill rims (azonic outlaws). I also replaced the pedals with some welgo dual pedals. After these modifications, this bike is a tank, a relatively lite one at that. It feels great,and it is a great platform to make upgrades to. If you were to upgrade to the pro-disc, i would recommend testing the Tora vs. the Recon to see if you feel that the recon is worth the increase in price.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
RobHollinger on August 13, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: lightweight, good handling, smooth shifting

Cons: the back hub starting making a grinding noise so i had to replace it. since then it has been perfect.

Recommendation: a great bike for the money

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on July 14, 2009
4 out of 7 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Nice riding position, comfortable

Cons: Weak wheels - spokes break too easily

Recommendation: Has something happened to Specialized's wheel makers? I used to have a 2000 Hardrock and used it for commuting around London for 7 years. The wheels just kept on turning - till the rims wore out simply from braking. That was OK - I'd got more than 10,000 miles out of them. My son also has an older Hardrock and hammers it round a mountain bike course every weekend, again without any problems.

Recently I got a new Hardrock - the 09 pro disk model with Alex Rims. Within four months the rear wheel has collapsed with three broken spokes. I have only used it for commuting in London. Looking at the spokes I can see why - they are much thinner and flimsier than the old ones.

What's more, this is the second Specialized bike I've had to have suffered a rear wheel collapse. The last one was a Rockhopper comp. I keep it for mountain biking but it too was less than a year old and had hardly been used. And I'd kept checking spoke tension.

I think Specialized have either skimped on the wheels or chosen a bad supplier. Either way it could be that you'd be risking a lot of hassle and cash if you go for the current Hardrock and Rockhopper models.
Jonathan, London

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
bigcommuter on May 22, 2012
4 out of 7 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012 Pros: Good comfortable frame Cons: I ride my bike to work each day. 20km (12m) on the road and bike path. There are no stairs, jumps, rock or even hills to get excited about on my ride. It is flat and smooth.I am not a light weight guy 100 kg or 225lb. The Alex rims HR 26" wheel are useless. In two months since I bought this bike I have broken two rear spokes buckling the wheel each time and now the front wheel has buckled whilst going round a corner throwing me off!! Recommendation: Buy the bike but make sure you're either a light weight or plan to upgrade the wheels!
Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
Queener19 on March 31, 2009
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great frame. Very light and easy to control. This bike come with decent components and rides well. Does great on dirt jumps and trails.

Cons: The wheels were either not assembled correctly at the shop or are just weak. These wheels will not stand up to hard shocks like stair flights. I know stairs are the roughest thing for a wheel but i figured they would withstand it better than they did.

Recommendation: Overall great bike for the money. I plan on upgrading components in a year or two when these wear out. Very pleased with my purchase.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mhow1973 on February 22, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I ride allot of steep uphill and trailless cross country and have found this frame to be very light and able to withstand some punishment and extreamly technical downhill rides with a rider weighing 250

Cons: I wore out every component on it in about six months and just replaced them all this year with all XT gear(Wich I love). The only thing I have not had to replace is the bb5 disc brakes.

Recommendation: Overall I love my bike even though I just had to replace all the coponents. Now I'll get a few more years out of it.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
marcaudet on February 3, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Expert Disc 29er

Pros: Light weight frame, Tektro Auriga Comp hydraulic disc brakes, geometry of frame, Shimano Deore shifters and derailleurs. Fastrack LK Control 29 x 2.0 tires.

Cons: Specialized RHD 29" stout rims, but they have replaced them with 29" Swiss DT 470's. The complete wheelset not just the rims!!! This ends up being a plus after the factory's customer service!!!

Recommendation: Great ride! I can't say enough good about it! Other than the rims issue, which I just got the call from my LBS to say my Swiss DT 470 rims are in. I understand it to be a $500.00- $600.00 upgrade on my wheelset at NO Charge to me, the customer. Wow! Great customer service to boot! This is my first bike in thirty years. I am new to Mountain Biking. Middle-aged, pushing 50 (Hard), six and a half foot tall rider under two hundred pounds. So I am hardly a Clydesdale. I went 29 inch because of my height & very long legs. Wheelbase of the bike and height of it are not affected much compared to a 26 inch wheel. This bike blows the theory that a 29'er doesn't handle as well as a 26 to bits. I have ridden both and any difference in handling is between the riders ears. There is none. Other than it handles small obstacles much easier. Really i cannot say enough about this bike. Thank you to the folks at specialized and my LBS (B&B Bicycles) in Cedar Hill, Tx. Now I just need to improve my riding skills more. Pactice, practice, practice. Just means I have to suffer and endure more time on the trails to get the most out of this bike...:) :) :)

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Abrookshire03 on November 14, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I am riding the 08 Pro Disc. Good bike for the money, nice componenets, I feel that you get a lot of bang for your buck. It's a Specialized how can you go wrong.

Cons: Tires are bad for where I ride (East Coast) I had to change them after about fifteen miles. I have to agree with the guy who had the rear brake issue, I must have tweaked my rear disc too and now I cant get the lever pull right and it squeaks a lot, I am not a huge fan of the hyro brakes I think I would prefer mechanical over the juicy three for more aggressive riding. One last thing about the brakes is that I experience a lot of fade when riding a lot of fast or technical sections, the brakes are getting too hot and you can pretty mch pull the levers into your grip, and yes I have tried to adjust all of this. I have put over 200 hundred pretty aggressive miles on the bike and it has held up very well overall.

Recommendation: I would say go get this bike, for the money I feel like I got a great piece of equipment. With the exception of the brakes everything else has been a dream. It could just be the way I ride so please do not hesitate picking up one of these at your local dealer.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
wingsfan on October 26, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Disc

Pros: rides great for the price,an excellent entry level bike

Cons: forks blow,chain slap is annoying and the pedals are weak.

Recommendation: if you on a budget or it's your first foray into mountain biking it a great pick up.dump the stock pedals and get larger platforms.you'll be stoked!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on September 15, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: These ar really great MTB's, and Specialized has a exceptional service

Recommendation: Anyone that loves MTB'ing

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Toggles on September 2, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Pro Disc

Pros: Light, Durable, Good Components, Specialized Quality

Cons: None Really

Recommendation: I would recommend this bike to anyone that wants a good durable hardtail bike. I got it for my first mountain bike and it has held up well.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tarvisg on August 6, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: Solid frame handles tight corners well and can go over just about anything.

Cons: I replaced the pedals already. I do have some issues with the shifting skiping which is a problem with the cables I am told. Also I bent the rotor a bit and have issues with the correct tightness without it squeaking like crazy. I also took a hard spill and bent the front rim to almost beyond repair.

Recommendation: I can abuse this with almost anything technical XC to technical DH. It takes it all and keeps on going. A stronger set of rims would be nice, but hey its a great first time ride overall.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tarvisg on August 5, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I got this with the Comp disc brakes and TORA front shock. The bike is great for XC and has survived some intense and technical downhill.

Cons: Front rim gave out on the downhill and sent me for a nice flight. I do have a issue with the brakes. I slightly bent the back rotor and ever since I can't get the right setting for the brakes. Either is squeeks or is too loose. I don't believe this is a bike fault, just my own.

Recommendation: I am glad I chose this bike for my intro to mountain biking. I was told a hardtail would make me a better rider. We'll see when I upgrade to a full suspension.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
AK_Dan on August 3, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Relatively light but very sturdy for being an aluminum frame bike. The price was better than ‘right’.

Cons: Came with a very soft Manitou fork. Don’t like the routing of the derailer cables. Wish it had disc breaks- but now I'm being picky.

Recommendation: I picked up one of these used last year without knowing anything about the model. The lady selling it said the bike had been in storage for a year, it had 32 miles on the Cat Eye odometer and not a scratch on it. One short ride up & down the alley and I was sold- $300. I wasn’t sure if I would like the hardtail but it seems to be more than adequate for the riding I do here in Alaska. The geometry of the bike itself seems to fit my riding style very well. I upgraded the fork to a fully adjustable 100 mm Marzocchi MX Pro (paid more for the fork than the bike- D’oh!), installed Shimano PD-M424 pedals and switched to a tougher seat post, all this coming together as one bike I am very happy to ride.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Boots! on June 10, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: This was my first "good" bike, and I loved it. Very light and easy to ride. This bike got me into riding. I have since upgraded to a Stumpjumper, but this was a fantastic introductory bike.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
1952hotrob on June 4, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Disc

Pros: i love the performance of this bike.worth $670 but ride like a $1500 bike.

Cons: i guess the fork..planing to upgrade it soon.

Recommendation: this is my first bike,i cant afford to buy more than $1K.the 1st time i rode it in the trail.i was already satisfied.for now im still gona stick w/ its fork & upgrade it in the future.strong frame.since i got.i'm always excited to go mtbiking..

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
CalebWI on May 23, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I picked up an '05 Rockhopper Comp as an intro to mountianbiking and it has served me well through much abuse. The frame is lightweight and responsive. A solid XC design. Over time I have had to replace several components - some to more match my riding preference and others as replacements for worn parts.

Cons: It was a fine deal considering the price, however as with any setup when you get to know your abilities and the components well you begin to see where you saved money. Didnt like: Fork -> replaced with REBA Race Crank -> replaced with Race Face Evo XC BB -> Race Face Deus X-type Cassette -> Sram PG 980 Saddle -> went thinner stem -> went lighter, OS headset: nothing special rims: kept breaking spokes Levers: Avid Speed Dial 7

Recommendation: Get it if you are considering the sport b/c it wont hold you back and will last for years. If you already know you will be riding hard and often - save up a bit more.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
BiffKugs3 on May 20, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Strong frame, great components, shifts fast and smooth, good price.

Cons: none yet

Recommendation: I'm a first time buyer of a serious mtb, and couldn't imagine a better ride. After just one week and a few trail rides, I'm already thinking of trading up to the Rockhopper disc. Consider it if you'll be in mud and rain (that's any bike, not just the Rockhopper though)

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Rockenreno on May 2, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Disc

Pros: -Rides well -Has put up with plenty of abuse

Cons: -Brakes scream when wet -Chain slap

Recommendation: My first mountain bike. Overall I'm very pleased with it as a first bike. It's a fair value and much better than the Hard Rock and bikes a tier below it. It's probably fine for any beginner to intermediate rider.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
CalebWI on April 11, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: It's a good geometry, not too heavy. The BB5's are a good brakeset for this well balanced bike.

Cons: However, with the cost of upgrades and repair after a year of riding hard I would have done better with the stumpjumper.

Recommendation: Its a great bike to start with. Its definitely trail capable. If you are new to the sport or diehard-hardtail you will be glad to have this one.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
benmclellan on March 8, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: Well, being a newbee on the block I talk from little experience. However, 42 yrs old 282lbs living in the mountains of Northern Mexico I feel as though Iam gaining on the knowledge end quickly. The bike rawks! I have a 23" extra large frame, my size at 6'4" demands it! I find this Rockhopper everything I could possibly need at this point for riding hard in the mountains. I need the strength of the frame and the braking power of the disc brakes, great! This bike was a suprize birthday gift and was already equiped with a different comfy saddle, and I use conventional pedals with toe straps, works for me very well! It's a great climber and downhill ride. I do wonder how much better the full suspension bikes could possibly be??? I'm pleased with this bike in almost every aspect...

Cons: The one area I think could be improved upon is the shifting package, I would say overall the shifting is good! But, I've had to do many adjustments to fit my demands in the riding I do... that may be due to it's newness with settling in...

Recommendation: I strongly recommend this ride to others, especially those of us in the WOW category (also known as Clydesdales) Listen to the others on the saddle change, they are most likely right and I recommend the conventioanl peddals with straps, works great for me in my type of rocky, and mountainous riding; holds my feet inplace, no slipping and gashing going on here.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
BrandonM1972 on February 15, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: The bike handles great in tight spots and is perfect for trail riding.

Cons: Everyone says the saddle sucks. Well it does and I am getting ready to replace it. I also don't for the pedals. I wiped out 2 weeks ago and a pedal messed up my calf pretty good. Time to go clip less.

Recommendation: Great hardtail for just about anybody. Remember to get a new seat and pedals because you will run into problems. Handles hills, flats, and tight spots well. Enjoy your ride and watch out for small stumps they are very unforgiving.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
fattyclark on December 14, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper

Pros: Very tough Frame and is very light. Climbs ok, and does alright in the switch backs

Cons: if you are a heavier rider like my self the rims may be a little weak.

Recommendation: I do a lot single track riding and I am very hard on this bike and it has held up beautiful.The rims area little weak for me I ride heavy (ie I pound down the trails) With some up grades this bike can make a pretty good Race XC bike. Frame is super Light. My bike stock weighed in about 27.5 to 28 lbs depending on scale. I have place to drop this bike down to about 25 to 24 by race season 08. I could even get lighter to if the right parts are bought.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
skunkwork on September 9, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: Very light weight bike. Great look. Solid components. Great value for a overall solid bike.

Cons: -Stock tires need upgrading to a more knobby tire if riding rougher terrain. -My back hub started making a funny noise after a couple rides....the shop advised it's not a safety issue, but the cones on the rear could have been machined a little better, but the shop just added a little more lube and now noise is very faint...can't hear on track anyway.

Recommendation: Very happy with this bike for my first MTB. Looking forward to many great rides.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dmhill2000 on September 7, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: Great bike with upgraded components from the Rockhopper Comp 2007

Cons: Tires aren't very durable. After four rides I pierced the tire with a small object that pierced the tube.

Recommendation: I love this bike!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
ajl on July 12, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Cons: the seat and peddals. Easy upgrade

Recommendation: make sure you buy a new seat and peddal from the beginning. I got it with a better seat that I like. Today I will be back at the shop to get new pedals

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
nickwetzel on June 25, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: i like the way it handles and it is a great bike for trail riding and climbing

Cons: the pedals and the saddle is really bad

Recommendation: it is a great middle level bike

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mtnbikerride on June 13, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: Just a good bike all around. Strong and duable will take you anywere.

Cons: The saddle stinks. People have talked trash about the pedals but I have not had a problem really to whine about though except my foot has slipped a couple of times and made a bloddy gash in my leg.

Recommendation: Great Bike and its a hardtail what could be better.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
shane_anthony77 on June 13, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: I have had this bike for one season and it has proven itself time and time again. It is very responsive and I have no problem keeping up with all my bros on full suspension.

Cons: The bike is pretty light, so it tends to bounce around if you hit some rocks or stairs to fast.

Recommendation: It's a great bike for anyone just starting off or even an experienced rider. It rides hard, but you will outgrow it in a season or two.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
bioadam on May 16, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: Comfortable, responsive, good componentry, fast & stable

Cons: i hate Schraders! oh, and the pedals kind of suck

Recommendation: Overall a great bike. This is my first time riding a hardtail in 5 years, and the bike has proved solid on every type of terrain I've taken it on. I'm happy with the purchase, and would buy again.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
megafuntime on May 11, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great price for a first time buy. Light and durable frame great for picking up the sport.

Cons: Breaking in the fork can take a while.

Recommendation: This bike is great for picking up the sport, and can definitely take everything that you'll be able to throw at it. Probably not for the more experienced rider.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
wileskws on April 12, 2007
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I really enjoy the feel of this bike, the ride is amazing and has allowed me to really appreciate getting into this awesome sport and hey, it is pretty darn cheap too!

Cons: The fork takes a little while to break in and the derailleur hanger is very easily bent, other than that I just loive this bike.

Recommendation: If you are just getting into mountain biking and would like something a little better than the Hardrock, this bike is perfect for you. If you are a well versed rider then I would say this is definately not the bike for you.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Boots! on April 12, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

Pros: This is my first season on this bike. I have not been a "hardcore" rider, but I'm thinking this bike will make me one! The disc brakes are amazing. The bike feels solid, it's light, and very comfortable. I highly recommend it!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 
Specialized Rockhopper 4.46 out of 5 based on 57 ratings. 57 user reviews.