Panaracer Fire XC Pro

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
4.43 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY   beta
MSRP: $?
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
34 owners
 
 
 
Top Rated Gear From Panaracer
Panaracer Smoke
Panaracer Rampage 29
Panaracer Soar - XC All Condition
Panaracer Green Lite
Panaracer Fire UST
Panaracer Super Tube
Panaracer Fire FR
Panaracer Dart
+ Add review
 
Bmx01r on August 9, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Style / Colors / Grip

Cons: Not all are manufactured in the same country nor are of the same quality

Recommendation: Check country of manufacturer before you buy

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dsycz on December 12, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011

Pros: Versatile tire on both hard pack and muddy conditions

Cons: Heavy, rolling resistance is less than nevegals but still substantial

Recommendation: Would definitely recommend for a good all-around tire

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mrh372 on November 25, 2013
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: Fire XC Pro Kevlar

Pros: Awesome grip especially for being only 2.1. Can easily feel what the tire is doing. When losing traction around a turn it is very controlled.

Cons: Road noise. Wears quickly on pavement. Local trails are only 2 miles from my house so I usually just ride the road over but have stopped since I noticed some wear already. Now that I'm riding them only on the trail I haven't noticed any wear.

Recommendation: Great tire that is fairly inexpensive. I was running a small block on the rear and nevegal 2.35 prior and this is definitely a better set up. More traction and more controlled with the Fire XC Pros

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dozzerboy on December 21, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Tread pattern
Directional
Hard compound

Cons: Thin sidewalls

Recommendation: This is the best all around XC tire I have found. All serious mountain bikers have ridden this tire before. It hooks up without complaints. The hard compound means it wear slowly.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
JacksPerson on December 17, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: - Made by Panaracer
- Agreesive tread
- Look badass on a bike
- durable tire that can take some abuse
- cheap!

Cons: - heavy
- rolling resistance

Recommendation: Used these tires for a season after I rode on the Dart/smoke combo for a couple seasons. These tires were hellaiously durable and gripped well even on the wet rocks and roots in New England. They are a rougher ride than many of the other tires I have ridden when not on a trail. They are alsmot as difficult to get off a rim then the Conti Mountain Kings. Only reason I do not continue to use these is that I discovered Nevagels!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
VBALL02 on December 10, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: These are the tires I use on my both my hard tail, and full suspension TREK bikes. The Panaracers are reasonably priced, and provide great traction and durability. As soon as the stock tires on my two bikes were replaced by the Panaracers, the traction gained going uphill on loose dirt and rocks was immediately noticeable. Additionally, these tires come in a red, yellow or blue trim, which really adds some color to my black bike.

Cons: A bit hard to get on and off the rim when changing a flat, but once you are up and riding again, its well worth the struggle!

Recommendation: I would definitely recommend the Panaracer Fire XC Pro tire. Great tire for the money.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jfigel76 on December 22, 2011
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Everything. Great price, lightweight, durable.

Cons: Not in 29er yet??

Recommendation: Best all around tire, used in all conditions.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
fat_billy on July 21, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Tires grip and handle well in average conditions. Have been able to run lower pressure due to its anti-snakebike. One of my regular trails is VERY rocky so the anti-snake bite is a big plus. Turning, climbing and braking is awesome. You never have a doubt as to what is going on. Haven't run in heavy mud but the wet areas I've hit have not cloged the tread. Heavy suck mud will foul every tire.

Cons: Haven't found any yet.

Recommendation: I would recommend the tires. Back in the day Panaracer Smoke and Dart were the best and the fire XC Pros are top notch. Buy 'em you'll like 'em.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jbelmont on December 9, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great all terrain tire. Aggressive tread pattern never fails to find grip.

Cons: Heavy and rolls like a monster truck on tarmac sections of trail or in the parkinglot on the way to the trail head.

Recommendation: Cheap and confidence inspiring.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on August 31, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Look, durability, traction, rolling.

Cons: Nada

Recommendation: I've used several other tires in my XC days and have been on the Fire XC Pro's for over 9 years now. Bar none...the best all-round tire on the planet. The grip is so sick it actually pushes you to new heights. Durability and flat/pinch resistence is superb. Personllay, I think they look pretty bad-ass too. Plus, multi-directional tread let's you customize your ride. Rolling resistence is there naturally for such an aggressive tread..but the the center-line knobs allow amazing speed for this tire. If you want a tire that does it all very well and won't let you down when the going gets tough...get these. Oh yeah...get the 120tpi for sure...don't bother with the 60tpi. Not the same tire.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
eastwood on August 1, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: tire works for front or back (reverse treads), good across conditions, color options if you like.

Cons: pay attention to the kind you get - no complaints for the 120 tpi.

Recommendation: Replaced my rear stock tire (wearing out) with this and after my first ride I am super stoked. Traction was great across conditions on the trail, climbed like crazy and just let me fly. I didn't notice any huge rolling resistance issues others have mentioned - but that might be apparent on smoother trails. For me, felt like a solid all around tire, price was great, and it got me flying on the trails - job well done!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tvance on June 5, 2010
1 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Color choices, price, quality of material

Cons: It is hard to find the right PSI on the tires

Recommendation: Great overall tire, I have been riding on these for over 200 miles and they have worked out great.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
John Fisch on January 7, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Versatile
Super Value

Cons: Rolling resistance can't compete with some more expensive tires.

Recommendation: This is the best all-around value tire there is. It's not the best at anything but is good at everything. Lasts well, especially for the price.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on October 2, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Aggressive pattern, great tire for value minded.

Cons: It's not the 120 tpi, but that's ok.

Recommendation: Bought this tire to replace the poorly worn out Bontrager Trail Connect the came with my G.F. hard tail. This is my first pair of new rubber on this bike since I got it new in Nov 2008. I have replaced most of the Bontrager parts with better after market.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
darrinw2001 on June 24, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: tread pattern, last long time, light, cool colors,

Cons: make sure you get the tires made in Japan! They are 120 tpi and are lighter and last longer than the cheaper tiawan 60 tpi tires. make sure you ask... Usually the 60 tpi's are $20 or below (Pricepoint), and the better 120 tpi's are $25 + (Bike nashbar carries both, Jensen)

Recommendation: I have used these tires on 2 of mt bikes and they are the bestyfor Floridas sand and even some of the clay trails. The tread pattern is perfect and grips very good for the trails I ride.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
GoldenGoose on May 24, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Decent traction. Slow wearing. Light tire in certain versions. Color choices.

Cons: Some of the side knobs will shear on rocks. Takes a little while to figure out the correct psi to eliminate pinch flats but still allow the best traction. Some "bootleg" versions out there on the market to watch out for.

Recommendation: I've gone through two pairs of this tire and I have to say I was pretty satisfied, especially when I factored in the cheap price. (~$20 per tire) It's not going to give you the BEST traction, tread life, or flat protection but it does do well in each of those categories. A good all around tire that does well on many surfaces and does so at a reasonable price.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on April 7, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great wet climbing and cornering grip.

Cons: none yet

Recommendation: Been running fire xc's ever since my first bike came with mosquitos. I'm highly satified with these tires.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Suvacrew on January 5, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great XC tire, great grip and rip and can stand for a good sprint to the line.

Cons: Knob will shear off easily in DG and rock gardens.

Recommendation: The high TPI casings are the ones to get, the ones from Japan, not Taiwan. It's been my go to tire on the XC rig for years...have tried other makes and this is the one for XC IMHO

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
2leftfeet on December 22, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Traditional knobs hook up well, good in the wet, good on roots, I can run it at 25psi with no pinch flats, pretty light for the size

Cons: too many different versions out there and some of them suck

Recommendation: You have to be careful when buying these, there are lots of OE versions with 33 tpi casings that just plain suck. Get the better 66 tpi casing and this is one of the best all around condition tires out there.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
RideorDie on March 31, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Pretty good traction at a cheap price. Fairly light. OK for buff single track.

Cons: Not good in technical conditions. I live in colorado Springs and this tire equals pinch flat for me. Does not do well in hard turns at fast speeds. You really loose lot of side traction.

Recommendation: This is a good tire for anyone who is just starting to find their mojo and doesn't want to blow a lot of cash on their tires. If you want to lean into turns without hitting the controls, or ride trails with sharp obstacles, look somewhere else for a tire.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
knights2 on October 30, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: This tire is excellent for climbing up hills in muddy conditions. I went for a ride after a full day of rain and the ground was covered in leaves, but i didn't slip once.

Cons: nothing

Recommendation: I recommend this tire to anyone. It is a very very good value.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
EZ-E on August 3, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: All conditions tire, matching F/R compatible, excellent flat resistance, excellent wear resistance, fairly lightweight alot of knobbies for under 700g. Run good on rocky trails - had the best performance on slickrock at DuPont Forest(see NC trails). Sharp looking tire, compliments your ride with the broad stripe and large logo - more tires should have a bit more bling...don't you think?!?!

Cons: I'm not an expert on "rolling resistance" on a mountain bike tire...but I just recently switched to different model tires after having owned three sets of FireXC's over three years...now I think the FireXC's were a little suspect in the rolling resistance category. This is a good normal conditions tire...but in either extreme, you might want to look elsewhere: The tight knob pattern holds mud when the tire rotation is slow(ie-climbing...when you need it to shed the most). On the other end, In dry conditions when hardpacked trail yields a little dust on top especially in the turns I've had a couple wipeouts when my front tire jacknifed at speed.

Recommendation: Great middle conditions tire with alot of features at a decent weight. Probably a very good training tire given what I noticed with the rolling resistance(consistently with three sets). The price of this tire continues to become more affordable - first set I bought were about $25/tire...last set I paid under $35 for the pair.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tumbleweed14 on July 20, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Cons: Rolling Resistance.

Recommendation: A really fantastic all around tire that only gets bogged down in the mud. Otherwise, they are long lasting and very grippy. Great for aggressive cornering.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 
Panaracer Fire XC Pro 4.43 out of 5 based on 23 ratings. 23 user reviews.